Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Everything about building wheels, glueing tubs, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
alistaird
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:21 pm

by alistaird

All,

I've seen converters to allow Campagnolo spacing on a Shimano spline for 10 speed but I want to go the other way. I have a wheel with a Campagnolo 9/10/11 speed freehub (that is no longer made) and I want to run it now on a bike with 9 speed Dura Ace. Is there any way of doing this?

Thanks

A

by Weenie


User avatar
vejnemojnen
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:11 pm

by vejnemojnen

buy a veloce cassette, replace the spacers with something around 2.6 mm thick. This way you'll get 4.35mm spacing, only the first cog will be 4.55mm further apart, but does not count, it'll just work fine.

by the way, I've recently re-spaced a 9speed cogset with 2.2mm thick spacers to shimano 10speed.

I've had a spare 10speed starter cog at my disposal and an additional last cog from a former cassette of mine. Now it's spaced 3.95mm all the way, save the first cog.

works like a charm. :thumbup:

Image

veloce 9speed cassette, with the 1st position replaced and 1 added at the top with 2.2mm spacers-->10 speed shimano block 13-25

you can do this for 9speed spacing too, with 2.6mm thick spacers. I got the 1st and last cog given by the lbs for free (they had it from an older replaced cassette)

User avatar
alistaird
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:21 pm

by alistaird

vejnemojnen wrote:buy a veloce cassette, replace the spacers with something around 2.6 mm thick. This way you'll get 4.35mm spacing, only the first cog will be 4.55mm further apart, but does not count, it'll just work fine.

by the way, I've recently re-spaced a 9speed cogset with 2.2mm thick spacers to shimano 10speed.

I've had a spare 10speed starter cog at my disposal and an additional last cog from a former cassette of mine. Now it's spaced 3.95mm all the way, save the first cog.

works like a charm.

Image

veloce 9speed cassette, with the 1st position replaced and 1 added at the top with 2.2mm spacers-->10 speed shimano block 13-25

you can do this for 9speed spacing too, with 2.6mm thick spacers. I got the 1st and last cog given by the lbs for free (they had it from an older replaced cassette)
Wow I love this forum for the wealth of technical information...

I might even have a 9 speed Veloce cassette somewhere...

Thanks

A

Sent from my E6853 using Tapatalk

User avatar
vejnemojnen
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:11 pm

by vejnemojnen

semmi

if you are not able to get 2.6mm spacers, you can also use 2.5mm bottom bracket spacers, those going to work as well.

internal diametre 35mm, thickness 2.5mm

it'll rresult in 4.25mm spacing, but a little overshift is very well tolerated generally.

User avatar
alistaird
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:21 pm

by alistaird

vejnemojnen wrote:semmi

if you are not able to get 2.6mm spacers, you can also use 2.5mm bottom bracket spacers, those going to work as well.

internal diametre 35mm, thickness 2.5mm

it'll rresult in 4.25mm spacing, but a little overshift is very well tolerated generally.
And that will save me some money... Just found a pack of 10 for ÂŁ2.50 instead of about ÂŁ3 each for 2.6mm....

Thanks

A

Sent from my SGP312 using Tapatalk

User avatar
vejnemojnen
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:11 pm

by vejnemojnen

could you please pm me with the link to the spacers?

cheers

User avatar
alistaird
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 8:21 pm

by alistaird

vejnemojnen wrote:could you please pm me with the link to the spacers?

cheers
Sent the details to you.

Sent from my E6853 using Tapatalk

roggi
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:24 pm

by roggi

Hi.
How well can you make a 10sp campagnolo sproket(campy freewheel) work with shimano 10speed Di2 leavers?
Is it just matter of spacing the campagnolo sprocket to shimano spacing? You could use centaur, veloce sprocket.

Roger

bm0p700f
in the industry
Posts: 4197
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:25 pm
Location: Glermsford, Suffolk U.K
Contact:

by bm0p700f

I have tried it never works well. Campag 10 speed cassettes dont have consitant spacing between the sprockets so it is not simple to get it to shift right. You could get it "acceptable" if you can tollerate that. Personally I would change the freehub.

User avatar
vejnemojnen
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:11 pm

by vejnemojnen

Can you please elaborate that spacing issue on 10spd campag? I thought the spacing is equal along the cassette, and, AFAIK, miche 10spd cassettes come with identical thickness spacers& cogs throughout their range..

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post