Campagnolo Bora vs Corima vs Mavic vs Zipp

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

MiddMan

by MiddMan

So there's a pair of Bora clinchers on sale I should probably just buy, but they're not the newer ones with AC3 rim treatment. Does it matter?

That brings to me to question / comparisons: I'm a tall 193cm guy with riding weight of between 85-90kg, so I'm looking for a carbon wheelset that will little to no lateral flex. I'm fairly experienced and usually don't hold back when going downhill; that said, I'm no lightweight so can pick up momentum. Don't think I have any KoM going up, but I definitely have a few local Strava records going down.

Anyway, although I'm very experienced with aluminium rims, I'm new to carbon rims and their (lack of) braking power. I ride mostly in dry weather but am likely to get caught in the rain more than a few times. Thus I want these to be my primary wheelset for use on diverse roads--undulating, flat, mountains.

I'll eventually add a lower profile set, but for now I'm considering Bora Ultra 50, Corima 47, Mavic (maybe), or Zipp 404 (maybe). I'd be grateful for your input--including your reasoning--for chossing one over the other.

I'll chime in with my further thoughts as needed too.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Mr.Gib

by Mr.Gib

I can only offer my experience with the latest and greatest from Mavic - haven't tried the others. I have the low profile Ksyrium Pro Carbon SLC. Many regard these wheels as having braking performance that is as good as carbon gets. I weigh 80 kg so a bit lighter than you. Do not for a minute believe that you will have braking close to what you experience with alloy rims. If you are OK with that then the Cosmic Pro Carbon SL (same as the Ksyrium but with a deeper rim) will be excellent. The new hubs are first rate.