Big man wheels

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

merser

by merser

Hi, first post on here. Been hunting for a decent cycling forum and came across this.

I'm pretty new to the road cycling game and as I gain fitness/lose weight I have a couple of plans, one is getting a decent power meter and the other is decent wheels.

I have been looking at zipp 404 but during a bike fit last week I was told they flex like mad especially with a big guy on them. I'm 6'4" and about 109kg so pretty substantial. That weight is likely to drop but I can't imagine much below 100kg as that would be pretty lean for me.

My question is would the zipps be a bad idea? And can anyone suggest better options. I've been looking at mavic cosmics as alternatives.

Thanks in advance.

Jamie.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hlvd

by hlvd

Weigh around 104kg, 6'6", no flex in 6800 and Ksyrium Pro wheelsets.
Just purchased Cosmic Pro Carbon SL wheels but not ridden yet, if they're like the Ksyrium Pro they'll be super stiff.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

merser

by merser

hlvd wrote:Weigh around 104kg, 6'6", no flex in 6800 and Ksyrium Pro wheelsets.
Just purchased Cosmic Pro Carbon SL wheels but not ridden yet, if they're like the Ksyrium Pro they'll be super stiff.

Awesome. Confirms what I've been told. Thanks mate.

spud

by spud

if you want carbon wheels, don't count on doing big descents at your weight as you may fry the brake tracks on lesser models. Zipp/Enve/Reynolds tend to put the most R&D into temp stabilization and braking power. The big issue for you is getting enough spokes. 28 spokes in the rear is pretty much the minimum. A custom build using DT hubs, and a robust carbon rim would work well for you I think.

merser

by merser