6.8kg UCI weight limit with a tight budget - trading my way up

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

Zabrodov

by Zabrodov

Hey everyone.

I am fairly new to the cycling world but I've been following the activity for some time.

Here is my first build - 2015 Cervelo R3 at 6870g.

I mentioned the tight budget as I wanted to see how I could get low weight bike while keeping a small budget. My budget limit was set at $1500 (Canadian) and from November 2020 until June 2021 I was trading my way up from a Decathlon Triban RC 120 to this bike.

The target weight I set at the UCI limit.

I spent pretty much up to my budget limit. I have a few leftover parts that I replaced in Cervelo. I might be able to bring the budget down to around $1000 CAD once I sell them.

It required a lot of luck but it was really fun and I am quite happy with the outcome. If I sell the remaining parts, I will have around $500 to spend on a few items to bring the weight down but I don't think that I can go below 6500g without exceeding the budget. Even reaching 6500 might be impossible without overspending but we'll see :)

Here are the lists of components of the bike when I just bought it and after I replaced some of the old parts

Here is the final result (the cable brakes were cut, which might have helped to lose a few grams of weight compared to the weight in the table). The rope used to hang the bike weights (25g).

PLEASEpleasePlease

by PLEASEpleasePlease

Nice sled! But whats going o with the saddle and handlebar set up? Looks like it might be a slight bit uncomfortable

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Zabrodov

by Zabrodov

PLEASEpleasePlease wrote:
Thu Jul 22, 2021 5:46 am
Nice sled! But whats going o with the saddle and handlebar set up? Looks like it might be a slight bit uncomfortable
Thank you!