Thick Weenies & Aerodynamics

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

TBT

by TBT

Evening folks,

So I'm going to preface the following with an apology for two things, the "eye roll" question that will inevitably turn some of you away and the length of the post I am writing. If you'd care to stick it out I'd honestly appreciate some feedback from other cyclists instead of my LBS.

My name is Luke and I have been cycling for nigh on 15 years for fitness, this was a means to keep me in reasonable shape as I played rugby & hockey up until the beginning of the pandemic. Since March time and the end to club contact sports as we know them, I have moved toward cycling pretty quickly and found that in fact I enjoy it at least as much if not more than the aforementioned sports.

At the end of May after some back and forth I decided I was going to upgrade my £400 boardman to something more substantial and on the advice of a 'friend' (LBS frequenter) purchased a 2020 Emonda SL6 Disc Pro. Now at the time of purchase I had done some research into the weight / aero thing and ultimately decided it probably wouldn't affect me too much as I would likely drop weight, get stronger and fitter over the coming months and as such any bike would suit.

Since then I have indeed dropped some weight, I have fallen from 104kg @ around 10-12% body fat, to around 90-92kg at around the same body fat. Now I know this is fairly heavy for a cyclist, but this is pretty small and pretty lean for me and the lightest I've been in probably 10 years, because of this I do feel that getting much lower in weight may begin to be an issue, I.e. I would lose power significantly.