Hummingbird 6.5 kg Folding Bike

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

craciunptr

by craciunptr

Hi All,

Ever since I got on my first bike I became obsessed with performance of the parts and weight. Even though I am not a massive rider, although in the recent years I have started riding my road bike almost every Sunday, the Idea of the bicycle as a mechanic contraption fascinated me. So I have been building and upgrading bikes for more than 15 years now. What amazes me most is that in this forum I can find endless inspiration from fellow forum members. The love and dedication to each project is very rewarding to follow.

As a interest point I j wanted to share with you my Hummingbird project, one of the lightest folding bikes on the market. I have stated designing this bike about 6 years ago when I wanted to get my girlfriend into cycling and wanted her to have an easy and accessible bike to ride to work. I am a big cycling commute advocate and I push everyone around me to try and get on a bike and out of a car! explore the city enjoy the freedom! Because Ligia lived on the 5 floor in a tiny flat it had to be a folding bike and since I couldn't find a folding bike light enough I decided to create my own.

The first step was to simplify the fold to only 3 steps. Removing the hinge in the frame saves weight.

The bike is currently a single speed, I went for a ride through London and out towards Bromley and I had so much fun.

For the ride I have beefed up the gearing, as the standard one is a 48T -13T rear which is good for city riding but quite limited for longer journeys, to 53t -12T.

On my road bike I usually start feeling tired/ sore after 4 hours on the saddle, due to the stiffness of the frame, surprisingly the Hummingbird was amazingly comfortable, I think this is due to the longer post, absorbing all the bumps of the road.