Soulrider Ti - Custom Titanium from Turkey (Budget Build)

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

ToffieBoi

by ToffieBoi

Hello everyone,

Last few bikes of mine had carbon frames and I always had the worry about damages of the material. With last bike, Giant Propel Advanced SL, my fear became real. My cat knocked down the bike at night, while it was leaning on the wall and impact damaged the top tube. Instead of spending some for fixing the frame, I decided to change the things a little bit.

I used to work as an editor in a bicycle magazine, so thanks to the connections I had around that time, I was able to get a Stelbel test bike for a month. SB/03 rode great, perfect ride feel but also surprised me with it's performance. Experience made it sure for me that I'm not going for another carbon frame. I wanted to purchase a Stelbel, but because I moved Poland recently, my budget limited me in that.

That way, I started to look for alternatives and reminded myself that there is a Turkish frame builder. I've seen him a lot on famous Strava Segments around Istanbul and had a chance to meet him few years ago. He is a welding engineer and a great cyclist. Once I checked his recent builds, it was clear that I will be getting a custom Soulrider. https://soulrider.bike/en_GB/

Deciding the geometry was the most painful part. Normally he has a fitting service included but I didn't have a chance to visit him. We started with some mixture between my Giant and previous Orbea Orca. Of course I'm really indecisive so after countless messages, we decided the final form.
Geometry Final.jpeg
Deciding the tubes were little easier. We went for 47-49mm HT, 28/35mm oval TT, 42mm DT and 35mm ST. Stays will be standard.
He started to build the frame yesterday, so I will start the build topic from the scratch.
Soulrider Titanium Tubes.jpeg
Soulrider Building.jpeg
Soulrider First Triangle.jpeg