2018 Canyon Aeroad SLX Di2 Disc - Fork Arrives (day 6)

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

Gancherov

by Gancherov

Hey weenies! I've been a fan of bikes for a long time but I've never had a good excuse to have a road bike. As a kid I couldn't afford anything with road bars and nice bikes had a mysterious way of disappearing in my neighborhood. When I did have a chance to get a decent bike I went for a mountain bike and I rarely used it's capabilities beyond a few rough roads. I think I regretted that more than I wanted to admit. I even spent a few years working in a tiny bike shop in San Francisco - right by the baseball stadium. I got to play with and test drive a bunch of bikes, but never got around to making my own road bike. This was the late 90's and I remember thinking of road bikes being a level above 'regular bikes'.

When I started riding to work last year I decided to set a goal - and if I hit it I would either make my own bike or modify the daily driver.
This would keep me motivated through fatigue and weather - but I think we all know how much easier that is when you're a bit in love with your bike. As long as I keep commuting by bike I can spend some of my car budget on bikes! I needed a commuter that would let me adventure a little bit so this is what I ended up with.

This is the daily driver - a 2017 Giant Fastroad that I picked up second hand:

It's been a great commuter. I've fixed a few things and changed a bit to deal with minor issues.
I got rid of the horns, installed a Jones bar, and bolted on a Kmount with a light and a Garmin.
I stretched on some bigger tires and set them up tubeless.
ImageImage

Well, my goal has come and gone now and I have some savings built up.
One night I hit craigslist with nothing specific in mind - just looking for trouble.
It wasn't long until I stumbled upon this and something in me wouldn't let me walk away.
This is my new 2018 Canyon Aeroad SLX frame.