BennyPropel - Giante Propel SL1

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderator: Moderator Team

BennyPropel
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:47 am

by BennyPropel

Hey Guys,

Long time reader, first time poster.

My name is Benny. I'm from Sydney Australia. I currently ride a Giante (joking) Propel SL1. Specs are:

- Dura Ace 9000 (53/39 & 11-12)
- Giant stem (not a whole heap of choice here aside from FSA and the yet to be released PRO stem)
- Prologo scratch nack carbon saddle (inc carbon rails)
- DA9000 pedals
- Stages DA9000 power meter
- Garmin Edge 510 on garmin rubber band mount
- Dura Ace 9000 C35 w/ Conti GP4000S
- Giant carbon bottle cages

In the next few weeks there will be a few changes:
- Fouriers pro team brakes front and rear
- 52/38 & 11-28 drive train
- DI2 DA9070 upgrade w/ internal battery

At the moment without pedals and the Garmin mount etc it weighs about 7.15kgs. That was with the Giant PSLR1 wheels. I'll get a proper weight this week with everything on it race ready. Do we quote weights with pedals on here?

Image

Image

Image

Image

Any questions please shout.

Benny
Last edited by BennyPropel on Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:20 am, edited 2 times in total.

wolfesquire
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:03 am

by wolfesquire

YES WE STATE WEIGHT WITH THE PEDALS!!!!!!!
ALSO HOW ARE YOU LIKING THE STAGE POWER METER??????????????????

BennyPropel
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:47 am

by BennyPropel

Why are we shouting?

I'll get her weighed up and post a revised figure.

Loving the stages power meter. I just need more watts to put through it and more time to go through the data. It's worth it though.

User avatar
P3PO
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:25 am
Location: Yukon Canada

by P3PO

nice ride, is that the integrated bar/stem?

BennyPropel
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:47 am

by BennyPropel

No that's just the standard Giant SL version. I've not been able to ride one of the integrated stems yet so not sure if I should make the change. Will grab some photos of my mates SL0 with the integrated one.

oakes2004
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 11:50 am

by oakes2004

That's so nice! What would be the advantage of a brake upgrade?

mihai
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:39 am

by mihai

amazing bike.

User avatar
P3PO
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:25 am
Location: Yukon Canada

by P3PO

Do you have mech dura ace or elec on there?

User avatar
pje0713
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:03 am

by pje0713

Right now he says it's DA 9000. In other words, mechanical. He lists 9070 di2 as a possible upgrade. You can also look at the FD and tell there is no electronic motor apparatus there.

User avatar
pje0713
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:03 am

by pje0713

@oakes2004 - the brakes on the propel have gotten mixed reviews. I believe some of the pro teams are using other brakes with them.

User avatar
cerro
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

by cerro

Nice. But where did you get those Fourier brakes? Seems really good and much nicer to work with that the carbon original brakes.
/jonas l
http://cerrol.wordpress.com (my cyclingblog)

BennyPropel
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:47 am

by BennyPropel

Thanks for the replies guys. It's not the most recent photo but will sort that shortly. In response to the questions:

Brake upgrade: The stock brakes aren't great. They're weak in the spring area and are constantly rubbing. Giant are aware of the issue and will more than happily help you out with them. They just don't work so good. They pull through easily due to the grub screw being so small and the spring mount isn't amazing either and pops out. Initially mine have been replaced with the aluminium version from the ENVIE (I think the lower end Propels have the same). They're stiffer but same issues. You end up having to adjust while you ride to avoid rubbing a brake. The solution is these:

http://www.fouriers-bike.com/en/pro.php ... cid=10&f=2

Bigger grub screw holding the cable in and a slightly different design. The cable pulls from the other side of the caliper but that isn't a big deal, you just need a new cable. The difference in performance is night and day. Review here (post #30): http://forums.roadbikereview.com/giant/ ... ost4534889

Giant Shimano are using these brakes. That said Shimano is meant to be launching with their own version soon

I'm on mechanical DA (9000) at the moment but upgrading to DI2 (9070) in the next month. Going for the internal battery as well which will be a little bit of custom work but no big deal for the boys at TBSM, my local bike store.

Thanks for all the positive feedback.

Benny

BennyPropel
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:47 am

by BennyPropel

Image

Image

wolfesquire
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:03 am

by wolfesquire

BennyPropel wrote:
Any questions please shout.

Benny


You said to.

BennyPropel
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:47 am

by BennyPropel

wolfesquire wrote:
BennyPropel wrote:
Any questions please shout.

Benny


You said to.


Haha, I lol'd!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post