Need pump for tubeless tires

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

eyedrop

by eyedrop

I've been riding road for 5 years and recently picked up a mountain bike to mess around on a few times a month. The tires are tubeless with sealant in them. I bought some sealant to top off and keep things fresh, but realized I need a special pump for popping the bead back on the wheel.

Ive been using a cheapo $25 Zefal Air Max Model# 5610 pump I purchased at Wal Mart 5 years ago when I started riding, and have had zero issues with it. Its kind of cheap and flexy feeling compared to my friends pumps. But honestly, the thing has been surprisingly reliable. I never understood the need to spend a bunch of money on a floor pump...

So what tubeless compatible floor pump do you recommend for best bang for the buck? It needs to service both MTB and Road tubeless, as I plan on experimenting with road tubeless in the future.

Also, I got to thinking.. Why not just buy an electric air compressor since its literally cheaper than buying a fancy floor pump, and it can serve many more purposes. What do you think?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

justaute

by justaute

Depending on a number of variables...budget, noise, convenience, etc. There are several pretty good options based on what I've read -- Bontrager Flash Charger, Topeak Joe Blow, Lezyne, etc.

I use a Lezyne Overdrive (with digital gauge) and it works fine. It's not noisy like my old air compressor, but obviously more work and has limited utility. It is mobile and I get a good "workout" from all the pumping. It has certain value :) If I buy another house, I would likely have another compressor, albeit a quiet one.