School Me on Must Have Features for Single Speed 29er

Discuss light weight issues concerning mountain bikes & parts.

Moderator: Moderator Team

joeg26er

by joeg26er

Hi -
I've always ridden geared bikes and now I would like a nice SS 29er.

I am a total noob on SS

School Me on Must Have Features for Single Speed 29er?

I would think hydraulic disc brakes- is 180fr / 160 rr ok or should it be 180mm all around?

What's available? Carbon fork vs Suspension fork?

Max tire size?

Is 440mm chainstays OK? Are 450mm acceptable?

Are WTB STP rims ok? What inner rim width?

Would a 27.5 SS be better than a 29er?

Best SS crank for money?
Lightest SS crank for money?

Anything I forgot to address?

Basically, looking for suggestions / your wish list / build list for a mid-level SS 29er that has good bang for buck

silvalis

by silvalis

A sliding rear dropout.
Chasse patate

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

TheRookie

by TheRookie

I ride with a fair few single speeders including the current SS world champ from WEMBO - Steve Day.

29er, for SS you need to maximise the roll over benefit as it's even more important without gears to help you, in fact many SS riders are now use the semi plus tyres like the 3" Chopacumbra's to aid roll over on features.

Chainstay length is always a case of as shirt as you can and still fit the tyres you want, plus you will ideally have either sliding dropouts or an eccentric bottom bracket, you can use a tensioner similar to a single jockey wheel mech but it's not as good.