Zipp Stem and Topcap

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:56 pm

by hzucker

Hello all,

I can use some help. I just installed a Zipp cockpit (SL145 and CSL bar) on my CAAD10 (w/105's). The stem came with a top cap but no bolt. I was wondering if anyone else faced this problem. the FSA expander that was provided with the bike's bolt is not long enough so I can't just put it on there. IS there a good extender to put this cap on or is there something else I should do?


Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:32 am

by SUCycling88

It sounds like the expander is too low in the steerer... the 145's stack height isn't really huge so I would probably move the expander up so the bolt will thread in.

by Weenie

Shop Owner
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Location: NoVA/DC

by thisisatest

You can't use the Zipp top cap with your current setup. You have the Cannondale SI expander/compression plug that is intended to support the inner wall of the steerer.
I recommend sticking with the factory setup, although one could conceivably use a different type of compression plug. The Specialized type supports the inner wall of the steerer well and allows for any top cap. There is a small lip at the top of those so an extra 2.5mm spacer may be necessary.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk 4 Beta

User avatar
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 1:19 pm
Location: Oxford, England

by Devon

It is often documented that you should always put a 5mm spacer above your stem.
Campagnolo; because it's a bicycle, not a fishing rod.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Last post