Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:09 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 721 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:53 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 758
So beautiful that I bought a new Garmin [does not work with 705] and stem [does not work with a Ritchey WCS]. It is a work of art and would do it again.


Top
   
Posted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:53 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 2:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:22 pm
Posts: 1043
Location: Brooklyn
Totally agree it was one of the reasons I got the 3T setup and its a perfect match for the 3T stealth Team color (or lack of color)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 6:58 pm
Posts: 236
Location: MS, USA
Can someone get dimensions on the width of the handlebar clamps of the various units? I've got vukasprint bars and don't have much clamping area at all.

_________________
My Giant TCR Advanced SL 2014
My Specialized Venge 2013
My Scott Plasma 2


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 4:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:29 pm
Posts: 236
Most are around .5 of an inch, I believe. If you need a really narrow clamp, K-Edge will likely be your best bet. It's .25ish of an inch.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7917
Location: San Francisco, CA
Standard Garmin mount with rubber bands is 8 grams. That works fine for my Edge 500, but I've had to send back three separate Edge 500s because of plastic tabs breaking on me (just dropped #3 in the mail this morning). The display of the Edge 800 is difficult to see unless the angle is perfect. Stem-mounting thus doesn't work well. I am definitely interested in a forward mount for that. Tillquist's excellent mount will put the computer at the stem angle. That's okay for a flat stem, but for a flipped one, it may be an issue. Mountain the unit further ahead, alone, may help visibility, however, by shifting the viewing angle.

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Posts: 1243
Location: UK
woz9683 wrote:
Can someone get dimensions on the width of the handlebar clamps of the various units? I've got vukasprint bars and don't have much clamping area at all.

The SRAM Quickview clamp is 9mm (just over a third of an inch)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2013 5:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:06 pm
Posts: 744
I should have given some thought into the vuka sprint mount area - bought the raceware mount and apparently it is a newer version with a mounting clamp a full 15mm wide. Good news for WW though, it's 12g on the dot. Oh well, I am trying to see if I can get it exchanged with someone else on the local forum now...

_________________
Trek Mad-one 7 Series team colours http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=115500&start=15


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 12:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:19 am
Posts: 914
I fit the SRAM out front mount on my Vukasprint without issue. That's about the widest mount you'll fit though.

Image


I've changed bars now though. Happy to swap mounts with anyone in a pickle :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 6:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:09 pm
Posts: 1388
Location: Aix en Provence
I have the design cycle with version for the edge 500. Works fine and looks good BUT, it seems like it chewed the plastic tabs that hold the garmin in the mount. On a descent my edge went flying. I found it and exchanged it. I recently received a new design cycle mount that holds the 500 and the 800 and it is extremely tight to get the edge 500 in there. I am concerned that it can break the tabs again..


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 7:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 1539
Imaking20 wrote:
I fit the SRAM out front mount on my Vukasprint without issue. That's about the widest mount you'll fit though.

Image


I've changed bars now though. Happy to swap mounts with anyone in a pickle :)


You need this one for the Zipp Service Course SL stem

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 4212
Location: Natovi Landing
Garmin Outfront works perfectly for me. Very secure mounting ... more so than the standard Garmin mount.

I'm not one of those people who breaks things, so your experience may vary.

_________________
----------------------------------------
Stiff, Light, Aero - Pick Three!! :thumbup:


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 6:58 pm
Posts: 236
Location: MS, USA
Tillquist wrote:
You need this one for the Zipp Service Course SL stem


This is exactly what I did :wink:

_________________
My Giant TCR Advanced SL 2014
My Specialized Venge 2013
My Scott Plasma 2


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:19 am
Posts: 914
Morten, I only held off on ordering one because I was unsure if I'd keep the combo. I'm glad I didn't pull the trigger because alas, I sold the Zipp stuff.

Now I need one for 3T :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 10:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 1539
Imaking20 wrote:
Morten, I only held off on ordering one because I was unsure if I'd keep the combo. I'm glad I didn't pull the trigger because alas, I sold the Zipp stuff.

Now I need one for 3T :)


3T is sold out


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 7:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:52 am
Posts: 70
Looking for a Garmin mount that puts the unit in front of the stem. I just picked up a MCFK road handlebar that has a -5 degree sweep back.

Any recommendation would be appreciated.


Top
   
Posted: Sat May 25, 2013 7:40 am 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 312 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 721 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Out Front Mounts?

in Road

aham23

14

2067

Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:09 pm

GeniuSH View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Out in front mount for Garmin Edge 810

in Cycle Chat

racersir

12

847

Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:01 pm

racersir View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin GoPro Out Front Mount options?

in Road

addictR1

13

955

Thu Sep 01, 2016 7:22 pm

topflightpro View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 29er frame with rear rack mounts?

in Cyclocross / Gravel / Touring

Cornholio

0

139

Wed Aug 31, 2016 11:20 am

Cornholio View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Aero bars and light mounts. The horror.

in Road

Shrike

10

1414

Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:44 pm

nycebo View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Attermann, elSid and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited