Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:07 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:16 pm
Posts: 166
Hey

Anybody found that the braze on mount on their frame gets in the way of correctly positioning that little metal plate you need to put on the seat tube when installing the Dura Ace 9000 front mech?

I have a 2012 SuperSix Evo 54cm and the braze on mount is in the way, such that I had to mount the metal plate at an angle, so the grub screw was only touching right on the very edge, rather than right in the centre as it is intended. I was worried the metal plate would shoot off, so I haev secured it on with a black cable tie. It hardly notices, and is secure now, but it was a less than ideal install.

Anybody else had these issues, and if so, what did you do about it?

Cheers

Owen


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:40 am
Posts: 560
Location: Switzerland
OwenJames wrote:
Hey

Anybody found that the braze on mount on their frame gets in the way of correctly positioning that little metal plate you need to put on the seat tube when installing the Dura Ace 9000 front mech?

I have a 2012 SuperSix Evo 54cm and the braze on mount is in the way, such that I had to mount the metal plate at an angle, so the grub screw was only touching right on the very edge, rather than right in the centre as it is intended. I was worried the metal plate would shoot off, so I haev secured it on with a black cable tie. It hardly notices, and is secure now, but it was a less than ideal install.

Anybody else had these issues, and if so, what did you do about it?

Cheers

Owen


i have seen 2013 SS Evos (complete bikes) without the plate. seems to work

not sure what shimano's intent is with the plate, probably add rigidity in case of 'weak' fd mounts. the SS Evo mounts seem pretty sturdy


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:16 pm
Posts: 166
Right, OK yeah I think they are just trying to massively stiffen everything up. Seemed a bit of a weird idea to use something so cheap as a little stick on metal plate with such a mega bucks groupset. Interesting that you have seen some people not using the plate. The Evo mounts are pretty strong, yeah; they are pinned on both sides of the mounting slot, rather than just one side like a lot of frames I have seen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:24 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1980
Location: NoVA/DC
The EVO fd mounts are designed so that the setscrew can rest right on it. The metal plate is for frames that would have the setscrew contact the tube, to distribute the pressure. You will he fine without it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:29 pm
Posts: 236
thisisatest wrote:
The EVO fd mounts are designed so that the setscrew can rest right on it. The metal plate is for frames that would have the setscrew contact the tube, to distribute the pressure. You will he fine without it.


Yeah, as long as your screw isn't going to scratch up your frame and isn't pressing straight onto carbon, you're good to go!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:16 pm
Posts: 166
The screw misses the mounts and touches the carbon tube. I have to use the metal plate.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:38 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1980
Location: NoVA/DC
...yup. forgot that the 9000 fd setscrews are much further back than on 7970 and 6770. I have to look at one in the shop to remember exactly how I handled it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:16 pm
Posts: 166
Any info on this would be great thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:27 pm
Posts: 71
Will be using 9000 on an Evo in the future-any more info?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:16 pm
Posts: 166
Well, I have contacted Cannondale about this, and their customer service was terrible; a half fob-off, telling me to take it to the dealer (how would the dealer know more about a structural issue than the actual manufacturer?!?!). It was also badly formatted, and full of spelling mistakes.

I have kept the front mech on, and the fix I made by securing the metal plate with a cable tie has been 100% solid, even after loads of heavy shifting so I am not bothered.

Would have preferred Cannondale to have actually addressed the matter in a professional and thorough way though, rather than attempting to palm me off, despite the fact that I own pretty much the pinnacle of what their company offers in terms of road bikes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:27 pm
Posts: 71
OwenJames wrote:
Well, I have contacted Cannondale about this, and their customer service was terrible; a half fob-off, telling me to take it to the dealer (how would the dealer know more about a structural issue than the actual manufacturer?!?!). It was also badly formatted, and full of spelling mistakes.

I have kept the front mech on, and the fix I made by securing the metal plate with a cable tie has been 100% solid, even after loads of heavy shifting so I am not bothered.

Would have preferred Cannondale to have actually addressed the matter in a professional and thorough way though, rather than attempting to palm me off, despite the fact that I own pretty much the pinnacle of what their company offers in terms of road bikes.


Yes, you would have hoped for a helpfully reply seen as they are specing 9000 on a couple of the 2013 evo's :?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Dura Ace 9000 front shift

in Road

oreoboreo

6

542

Sat Feb 06, 2016 1:17 pm

oreoboreo View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Dura Ace 9070 Rear Mech Hanger stiff problem

in Road

TheDarkInstall

6

523

Sun Jun 05, 2016 5:47 am

TheDarkInstall View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Fibre-Lyte 'ultra lyte' rear gear mech inner plate

in Road

DavidG

4

580

Wed Dec 23, 2015 10:59 pm

UpFromOne View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Which cables for Dura Ace 9000

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

Flint

21

2396

Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:33 pm

Wookski View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Dura Ace 9000 next update?

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 4 ]

in Road

itguy

45

8120

Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:48 am

Dick View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], ihs0yz and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited