Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sun May 01, 2016 1:56 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken

Those bugs will be fixed ASAP (next few days) as they are unfortunately more serious than expected.

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 6:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 63
Location: uk
Hi I've got xentis squad 4.2'a which I just don't get along with.they feel dead /lifeless..before I give up on them and sell them, wasting loads of money, would changing the hubs enable me to stiffen them up, thus giving them more feel and life? At present they have dt swiss 240s hubs which apparently are quite narrow.if I put say tune mig mags on, which are wider, could I tension the spokes more thus stiffening the rims?


Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 6:49 pm 
Offline
in the industry

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 2:59 pm
Posts: 824
Location: Ruidoso, NM
Unless you are experiencing unacceptably high flex from the rear wheel, changing hubs won't help.

_________________
formerly rruff...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:35 pm
Posts: 71
What spokes have you got? Try some stiffer ones?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:45 pm 
Offline
in the industry

Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:25 pm
Posts: 2510
Location: Glermsford, Suffolk U.K
What do you mean by "dead" could mean alot of things.

_________________
www.thecycleclinic.co.uk


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 63
Location: uk
not sure what spokes.possibly sapim cxray.dead as in when you put power down they feel sluggish !!! unlike my campag eurus which are amazing and sort of zing along ???


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:12 pm
Posts: 210
Location: NL
Have you tried different tires to find out whether the lack of riding fun comes from the wheels themselves?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 4:18 am
Posts: 395
Location: Australia
Tyres were my first thought too. Have you tried running Veloflex tyres? Tyre pressure is also something that can be easily monitored that can take the zing out of a ride if too low.

Keep us posted.

Best,
I


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:13 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 5:27 am
Posts: 1244
Location: McCall, ID
As mentioned, this could be a tire issue.


Swapping hubs won't do anything though. Yeah the DTs have relatively narrow spacing, but swapping to a wider flanged hubset will only make a difference laterally, not necessarily torsionally.

_________________
http://www.zencyclery.com


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 63
Location: uk
Yep.change pressure and tyres from schwalbe ultremo zx HD to Michelin pro race 4.
Trouble with this prob if that I haven't come across anyone who has them or any reviews.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 63
Location: uk
Think I've sorted it.although not the bling look,....I've bought some campag shamal ultras..!!! Hopefully get something back on Ebay?
Thx for the input, think I was flogging a dead horse?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 63
Location: uk
Ok.this should do the trick...!!!???
Attachment:
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg [ 78.1 KiB | Viewed 1215 times ]
Attachment:
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg [ 78.1 KiB | Viewed 1215 times ]
Attachment:
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg [ 78.1 KiB | Viewed 1215 times ]
Attachment:
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1360104822727.jpg [ 78.1 KiB | Viewed 1215 times ]


Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


Attachments:
uploadfromtaptalk1360104790600.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1360104790600.jpg [ 79.8 KiB | Viewed 1215 times ]
uploadfromtaptalk1360104805949.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1360104805949.jpg [ 87.65 KiB | Viewed 1215 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Changing hubs.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 63
Location: uk
Sorry about the multiple piks.don't know how that happened.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AZR3, Benno, Bing [Bot] and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited