Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Mon May 30, 2016 11:27 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous 18 9 10 11 1214 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:09 pm
Posts: 196
Well, I moved it from being sandwiched between the frame and cable guide last night. First, I did the little test of running the sensor across the back to make sure the batteries were still working. Then I moved the sensor. Rode it this morning and it works except for when I hammer out of the saddle. I'll play with it some more, but at least it's working. Thanks for the suggestion.

TB


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:28 pm
Posts: 1405
Use a penny or a dime to space the sensor from plastic plate. If it's to far or to close it won't transmit the signal properly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 3
So I am currently in the process of replacing the round battery on my 7800, but the replacement battery I ordered has 3 pins...I'm assuming that two of them are negative...does this mean that I should connect the two outside pins to the black wire, or just connect one of them? Here is the battery I have http://store.batteryspecialists.com/3b880.html


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 4:11 pm
Posts: 7
You need only connect the ground wire to one pin. Snip the other pin off.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:37 pm
Posts: 810
Location: it's raining, it must be uk
just replaced the batteries in my sram s975 cranks (srm wireless)

it needs two batteries

original type LTC-7PN-S4, but these were out of stock so i used BL-7PN, these are the same except they have two additional cathode pins, these can just be 'peeled' off the end of the case

note that this type of battery can be marked either 3.5V or 3.6, it just depends on the reference conditions used in the specification, don't worry, they're the same really


remove the chainring bolts

remove the small chainring, this reveals the small indents next to each hole

use a small screwdriver, poke it in one of the indents and lever off the cap over the electronics - there are no wires connected to the cap, it can be removed completely

before pic, i've inset a zoomed in view of one of the indents

Attachment:
before.jpg
before.jpg [ 28.09 KiB | Viewed 2051 times ]


on each battery terminal, there's a piece of insulating sleeve, carefully slide this down the wires leaving the soldered connection visible

Attachment:
wires.jpg
wires.jpg [ 5.83 KiB | Viewed 2051 times ]


use a small soldering iron to disconnect the battery, take care not to let the wires spring back as they could flick solder into the rest of the electronics, remove the battery, it's held in place by some mildly tacky stuff

repeat for other battery

trim the terminal leads of the replacement batteries to the same length as the originals and tin them, also re-tin the ends of the wires from the srm

solder the terminals of the new battery

once cooled, slide the insulating sleeves up over the joints

gently bend the cathode wire (-ve) towards the axle - otherwise it will foul on the edge of the housing

push the battery back into place

repeat for other battery

after pic...

Attachment:
after.jpg
after.jpg [ 24.27 KiB | Viewed 2051 times ]


if you've got a magnet handy, move it past the two reed switches a few times to wake the srm, it should then be detected by your head unit, you can check the zero offset, it should look like it used to before the old batteries got tired

check that the seals on the cover are in place, line up the white dot so that it's centered on the reed switches and push it back on, the make sure it's fully seated all the way round (if there was *any* sign of water/crud having seeped in, check the seals are ok, put some extra silicone gel on them)

replace chainring, do up chainring bolts to 10Nm

refit to bike, ride


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:09 am
Posts: 122
having trouble fitting the back cover back, the outer o ring seal seemed to be worn out and occupying the space meant for the back cover to sit in tightly. Any suggestions? Replacing the O ring seal? Does anyone know the exact 'spec' of the outer and inner o ring seal? Do I still put bait of silicon grease on the O ring seal before putting the cover back?

*solved


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:37 pm
Posts: 9
Location: The Netherlands
Hello,

I just replaced the TWO square lithium batteries in my wireless Dura Ace 7800 SRM. For the full instructions I made a nice tutorial at my blog: http://www.thetallcyclist.com/2012/11/s ... made-easy/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I included a link with where you can get the batteries in Europe.


Attachments:
SRM_Battery_step_3.JPG
SRM_Battery_step_3.JPG [ 91.32 KiB | Viewed 1931 times ]

_________________
Bikes, watts, and weights
http://www.thetallcyclist.com
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:20 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,

this week failed to record my SRM power and cadence. Believing be the battery, I decided to follow the tutorial brir and replace battery. However open when checked that the wires that connect the plate abteria were loose. The battery is ok but do not know where to solder the wires in the dve circuit board. Could anyone help me with a photo, or indicating which location? My SRM is an FSA K-Force Light. The problem is not that the second battery that has the grounding screw.

Sorry the bad english!!
Thanks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:00 pm
Posts: 23
I think it's time for me to open up my Rotor 3D+ compact SRM and swap the battery. At the moment I'm seeing the unit pair to the PC7 within about 5 crank revolutions, and it shows the correct ZO and slope. It will transmit cadence but will not transmit power. Before I remove the crank set, can anyone suggest if this is indeed behaviour suggesting a flattening battery, or whether something else might be the issue here? It's seen about 400hrs of use so far, which is a little soon for this to happen.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1752
Location: Houston, Texas
If the SRM 'wakes up', pairs, does not exhibit noticeable drift of the zero-offset, and you get cadence but no power, then it unfortunately does not sound like an issue with the batteries.

_________________
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:00 pm
Posts: 23
Hmmm.. On second inspection, I think the ZO may not be 'steady'. depending on the crank arm position I see between 20-30 Hz difference. I popped the cover and everything looks perfect inside. I'm going to replace the batteries and see what happens from there.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 7:49 am
Posts: 11
Getting a SRM DA 9000 power meter very shortly. My bike has DA 9000 with standard chain rings(53/39), I opted to purchase my SRM with compact chain rings as the one DA 9000 spider accepts both standard and compact chain rings.

I purchased in this configuration as I was going to by compact rings anyway for days in the big mountains and bought the SRM this way as a cost effective way (if you can call it that) of getting the compact chain rings.

98% of the time i will be using the 53/39 and therefore plan on removing the compact rings off the SRM before I even install the SRM and install the standard rings from the DA9000 crank set. After reading the posts in this thread about how the small chain ring seals and keeps the cover in place, is this something I need to be wary of when swapping over the chain rings??? I mean will removing the small chain rings pop the cover (i hope not) or is there something else needed to actually remove the cover?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:44 am
Posts: 291
The only thing keeping the cover on once the rings are removed is friction between the internal rubber seal and the spider housing
however, there is enough friction involved so as not to let the cover "pop off" when you remove the rings. Don't worry, changing the rings is just as trivial as changing them on a normal (non SRM) spider.

_________________
...


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:00 am
Posts: 393
Does anyone know how to use the new software function to check the levels of the battery crank?

_________________
Instagram
Instagram - Work
Alluminati - CAAD10


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 3036
Location: Canada
DartanianX wrote:
Does anyone know how to use the new software function to check the levels of the battery crank?


I was told its when you dld a training file from the PC7, I guess its via the SRMwin software, but not sure. This is an awesome feature though.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 198 posts ]  Go to page Previous 18 9 10 11 1214 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Tubular tire for home trainer

in Road

LouisN

14

778

Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:34 pm

dcpdpayne View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BB30 install tools for the home mechanic?

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

jz4nyc

16

1424

Fri Aug 21, 2015 4:38 am

jz4nyc View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Replacing inner brake cable, removing nothing ?

in Road

PLuKE

2

394

Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:06 am

dha View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Tips for replacing internally routed cables

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

OhPinchy

16

991

Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:15 pm

AJS914 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) Internal or external DI2 battery

in Road

muntos

14

1098

Sat Jan 16, 2016 1:40 pm

garlet View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ggtopspin, mnmasotto, stormur, strangely and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited