Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sat Apr 30, 2016 6:14 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken

Those bugs will be fixed ASAP (next few days) as they are unfortunately more serious than expected.

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:42 pm
Posts: 95
I heard that golden cheetah now has a similar funtion to trainerrroads virtual power.

Being a tight fisted git, does this mean I can make my turbo sessions a bit more interesting without resorting to paying a subscription to trainerroad?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:41 pm
Posts: 227
Location: Shetland, Scotland
I have mine running with a USB ANT+ stick giving live data overlay on Sufferfest videos, with target powers set from the matching erg files.
Setup help on the Golden Cheetah Google group. Erg db at http://73summits.com/ergdb/index.php


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:32 pm
Posts: 52
Alternatively look at PerfPro. One off cost to buy the software http://perfprostudio.com/ . Excellent piece of software.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:42 pm
Posts: 95
Cheers, I've downloaded the software and had a play about, and ordered an ant+ dongle.

How easy is it to add a custom trainer, the GUI only has options for a few trainers and not mine.

All I really want to do is stuff like 2x20min FTP workouts as I use a singlespeed MTB for 90-120min group rides two or three times a week which is probably giving plenty of shorter/harder intervals even if it is a bit random and unstructured! I could just do it with a cheep computer and record speed, but if all it'll cost me is the dongle to get actual (estimated) power numbers then that's cool.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:32 pm
Posts: 52
What trainer do you have?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:42 pm
Posts: 95
minoura hypermag+ (but contemplating some sportcrafters progressive rollers from planet-x)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:32 pm
Posts: 52
thisisnotaspoon wrote:
minoura hypermag+ (but contemplating some sportcrafters progressive rollers from planet-x)


Minoura trainers are supported http://perfprostudio.com/StationaryTrainers.aspx . But maybe only limited trainers are offered in the 14-days trial version.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:42 pm
Posts: 95
Sorry, i was still taking about GC. Intending not to spend much money on this as it's for such limited use. If it doesn't work I'll just record the rides on the edge and export to excel and apply a correction there.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited