Shimano 10 speed + Campagnolo 10 speed cassette

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
rhyslewisdavies
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Wales, UK

by rhyslewisdavies

Hi there, ive got a Specialized Allez Elite 2013 bike on the way for a winter/commuting bike. Its 10 speed Tiagra with some naff wheels. Im putting Easton EC90SL's on my SL4 which runs 11 speed Record, so im planning on taking the Zonda's and putting an old 10 speed Chorus cassette on it and sticking them on the Allez. If I have to ill buy the J-Tek shiftmate to get it to work but im wondering if anyone runs this type of setup without any modification (and expense) and if the level of shifting is acceptable. I can remember a few years ago running 10 speed Campag with a pair of ksyrium elites with a 9 speed Shimano cassette and that worked perfectly, bar the obvious fact that i had one extra click left on the lever that wouldnt do anything if i pressed it.

Thanks

Rhys.

bricky21
Posts: 1405
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:28 pm

by bricky21

No. It won't work. Campagnolo make a freehub body for Shimano.

by Weenie


bm0p700f
in the industry
Posts: 3389
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:25 pm
Location: Glermsford, Suffolk U.K
Contact:

by bm0p700f

A shiftmate will be cheaper than a new freehub body and shimano cassette though.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post