HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 660
Location: Winnipeg Canada
I changed from my SiSL Hollowgram arms to the new SISL2 arms.. I contacted SRM and they told me it would not effect anything and I just needed to make sure the lockring was locktited and tqd to spec which it is.... Ive had my SRM back from servicing since September, and the zero offset was pretty consistent in the 430-450 range.. now that the new arm is installed I am getting a value of 533.... is this anything to be concerned about? Is my calibration out of whack so to say? Or is there nothing to be concerend about?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:13 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 6:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:26 am
Posts: 604
Are you sure you didn't over torque the lock ring/chainring bolts?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 660
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Chainrings were never removed.. and the lockring was installed using a calibrated trq wrench we use in aircraft mntenace... turned til it clicked and that was it... I noticed in an email SRM told me to check the offset regularly... so maybe this is expected? Doesn't the unit just subtract the offset off some value and if it didnt get excessively high it was no concern? I emailed SRM, ut the office is closed til the 2nd...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 2922
Location: Canada
if the new value remains consistant, then I see no problems. You could calibrate it on your own to make sure the slope is accurate, take 10min with bike in the trainer...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 660
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Good idea.. I will plan that on my computrainer this aft in erg mode..

I recalibrated ths AM and its gone from 533 to 515.. not a significant change in my opinion... I guess its just settling in after its been tqd down on the bike...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 3:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 2922
Location: Canada
you will need a know weight of 15-30kg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 660
Location: Winnipeg Canada
I just jumped on the computrainer in erg mode varying from 135-400 watts... I did a new manual zero offset, and its now showing my old 430 value.... strange... maybe I just needed to ride it and get some pressure on things to reseat after the new crank install??? Anyone have thoughts on that one??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 2922
Location: Canada
was the 500+ offset obtained at the same temperature you obtained the 430 offset value? Temp is the main factor for varying zero offset. I'd ride the cranks for a week or two and test the offset at a given temperature, for example, always test your offset with the bike in the same room in your house with the same condition (bike in trainer). My SRM offset is always the same in my basement with the bike in the trainer, after riding the bike for 15min with 2 fans blowing at the bike, the offset changes 3-5 units.

I'd still consider a manual calibration with a known weight.

Otherwise, PAGING GEOFF!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4480
Location: Canada
Heard ya.

The offset is not the same as calibration and will often change whenever you make major changes to your PowerMeter requiring a re-calibration. Generally speaking, the PowerMeter will need to be re-calibrated whenever you modify any interface between the PowerMeter chassis and any of the other crank components. This would include replacing the battery or changing the crankarms.

The interface between the PowerController chassis and the crankarms is particularly robust on the Si version. Because of that, it is the most accurate of all the PowerMeters. Notwithstanding that, if you change the crank arms, remove and replace the crank arms, or re-torque the crankarms, you should re-calibrate the PowerMeter. Fortunately, you can re-calibrate it yourself.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Posts: 660
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Hi Geoff,
My SRM was pretty consistent from September onward in the 43-460 are temperature pending.. at that time of year in Winnipeg we've entered the "anything goes" time of year... I was recently in Maui for 3.5 weeks and was consistently getting 425-435 values every morning... the house temp is around 68 or so where I was doing the offset.. I just installed and did an offset and got the 500+ value... after actually riding the Computrainer now, I guess things have meshed so to say and its back to the normal 430ish value I was always getting before.. I guess thing just needed to seat in... that computrainer watts and SRM watts were close enough that I can see everything is OK...

I have never done the calibration test.. is this what you are referring to??


1. Look for a weight of about 30 to 40 kg. Hang it on a cable of about 25 cm, so that the weight does not touch the floor when it is hanging on the horizontal crank pedal, or take a longer cable and put the bike on a table.

2. Calculate the weight in Newton. E.g. 30 kg = 30 * 9.81 = 294.3 N 3.

3. Calculate the torque you get when the weight hangs on the horizontal pedal crank.
E.g. at 172.5 mm cranks : 0.1725m * 294.3 N = 50.77 Nm (Newton meter).

4. Switch the Powermeter on by pedalling backwards. Do this with a middle gear so that the chain is in a line, e.g. 53/15.

5. Notice zero of Powermeter (MODE + SET, right number)
e.g. F0=500 Hz.

6. Bring crank in horizontal position and hang the weight on the left pedal.

7. Notice frequency output-left of Powermeter (MODE + SET, right number)
e.g. Fleft=1450 Hz.

8. Bring crank in horizontal position and hang the weight on the right pedal.

9. Notice frequency output-right of Powermeter (MODE + SET, right number)
e.g. Fright=1550 Hz.

10. Calculate frequency change of Powermeter with this weight as (Fleft+Fright)/2 -Fo
e.g. (1450+1550)/2 Hz - 500 Hz = 1000 Hz at a torque of 50.77 Nm.

11. Calculate average slope of Powermeter.
Slope = 1000 Hz/50.77 Nm = 19.90 H z/Nm.

12. This slope is the calibration of Powermeter and must be set in Powercontrol.
We recommend to check the slope monthly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 12:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 2922
Location: Canada
Yup thats the calibration.

Its handy and I'd do it at peast once a year. I sent my srm to colorado for service in october 2011 and calibrated it 2 weeks ago. The srm factory slope was 1,35% off of what I got using a known weight.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 1:20 pm 
Offline
Shop Wrench

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:31 am
Posts: 161
Location: Belgian border
Wait, what? I have an SI SL SRM. Do you mean you should recallibrate after every time you disassembled the crank from the spindle or just when you remove the srm spider from the crank arm and retorque the lockring?

Guess I should recalibrate the slope soon then..
What are you guys using as a known weight? I can imagine that a weight lifting weight marked as 20kg is not precisely 20 kg.
How do you attach it to your crank arm? A rope or something?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 2922
Location: Canada
you can use a weight lifting plate with a rope, but you need to factor in the weight of the rope and know the exact weight of the plate. I use a 20kg kettlebell that weights 20.00kg, it already has a handle so its pretty easy to attach to the pedal!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 10:38 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: NorCal
I have a spreadsheet that SRM sent me for calibrating at home. Makes it easy.

_________________
Have you ever wondered if there was more to life, other than being really, really, ridiculously good looking?


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:47 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 7:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4480
Location: Canada
@roselend, you do not need to re-calibrate the PowerMeter when you switch the crank, only when you dismount the crankarms or replace the battery. That said, the slope does tend to 'drift' over time and re-calibrating keeps it accurate.

The weight I use is an Ivanko 'calibrated' weight, which is supposed to be accurate to 10g. You can get scientific weights, too, but that is pretty close. You can hang it off an old spindle directly or with a rope, etc.

The reason that your calibration will differ from the factory calibration is that the factory uses a more accurate eddy current brake instead of a weight.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], clarkson, Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. How to install a BB30 crank on OSBB - cowboy style!

in Road

Elrey

0

632

Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:38 pm

Elrey View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Anyone used the Easton EC90 seatpost (offset)

in Road

PoorCyclist

1

202

Fri Jul 11, 2014 7:53 pm

stuka666 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 0-offset seatpost for oval carbon rails

in Road

mjduct

11

690

Sun Jun 15, 2014 2:20 pm

martinko View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. (im)Possible to install a Campy SRM on a 386 Evo BB ?

in Road

vlastrada

2

513

Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:46 am

vlastrada View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. At home Di2 install....

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Road

chiltonp

35

2526

Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:24 pm

rma View the latest post


It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:27 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB