Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Fri Jul 29, 2016 1:10 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Powertap torque change
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 12
Hello,

I have a failed powertap hub. It suppose to have a fail on the torque tube, some electronics I guess. So, someone knows how to dismantle this part ? I want to access to this part:
Image

I guess that I need a non standard tool.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:56 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Posts: 1980
Location: NoVA/DC
If you're definitely not interested in sending it back, you can try to come up with a tool that fits into the left side of the battery compartment, once the batteries are removed. I would assume the threads are left-hand threaded, or the torque would remove it for you.
Good luck.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 6:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:21 am
Posts: 333
I wouldn't dismantle it yourself - the inside needs to be in a vacuum. By opening it you will void the warranty and not be able to have it sent back in for repairs.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 12
Why needs to be in vacuum? to avoid water? or to measure well?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 12
I assume that the hub hasn't warranty and the vacuum I think is needed to avoid water so there wouldn't be a problem to repair. Repair a broken wire or a chip problem should be cheap and not very difficult.

The problem is going inside. I think to dismantle I need to unscrew in oppositte direction to pedaling direction. Could be ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:21 am
Posts: 333
The Vacuum is to allow it to get proper readings. I had a powertap that had the vacuum seal break and it read all over the place. I was going from 120w to 4000w within one pedal stroke. You don't need a vacuum seal to protect it from rainwater.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 12
Are you sure? I have no idea but it should be no vacuum because antenna is connected with internals and wire goes through a hole, so air could go into the hub.

And torque side seems not sealed.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:35 am
Posts: 570
I don't know how to pull the torque tube out, but I just sent my wheel back for torque tube replacement. It was out of warranty, so it is costing $350 to have a new torque tube installed, but it's basically the G3 system, so that is nice.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 12
Yes I know that in the US is 350$, about 220-250€ to repair... it is quite cheap but in spain the same repair costs about 500€!!!

What do you think about it ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:35 am
Posts: 570
500 - that's a lot.

I have not yet received the PT back yet, so I can't really comment on the quality of the replacement. I sent it out about a week ago, and I kind of expect it to take some time to get back to me because of the holidays.

I did consider the cost of the repair and the age of the spokes and rim before deciding to have it fixed instead of buying a new one. And the $350 proved to be a lot cheaper than going new.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:31 pm
Posts: 12
JEJE, I could open the powertap, so now I could verify connections inside ;)

Image

Now I am looking for a Ant+ upgrader but I want a used one. I want to see inside also that ;)

Do you have one ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 7:03 pm
Posts: 1
Not bad, I opened my PT SL+ today. Had to build a special tool, like you. To all who wonder if the torque tube is left- or right-hand threaded - it's left-hand and you need a hammer. However, I didn't find any cable broken, but there was little water inside, what seems to have caused problems with the strain gages and the wrong torque readings. What did you find inside? Repaired?
I have an ANT+ updater for SL2.4, but it already had 2 successful updates. Do you need it (I'm in Germany)?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:14 pm
Posts: 4
I have a wired 24h PT that is dead and a wired 32h PT hub that works great. I need to get the 24h hub working for my race wheels, but Cycleops and Wheelbuilder no longer repair wired units. So, I would like to move my torque tube from one hub to the other. I see the tool in the above pic, but I am hopeful that one of the posters can share some insight. Thanks!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Need to change rings ?

in Road

banik69

3

264

Sat May 21, 2016 3:49 pm

addictR1 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Change Dura-Ace pull

in Road

PSM

11

761

Wed Feb 17, 2016 5:16 pm

BikeAnon View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. UCI ready to change the 6.8 kg weight limit?

[ Go to page: 1 2 3 ]

in Road

thprice

33

1976

Thu Dec 17, 2015 7:41 pm

Delorre View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 6700 Cassette-How many miles before you change?

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

shoemakerpom2010

15

1287

Sat May 14, 2016 12:07 am

Dez33 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Change BOA type in Lake CX331

in Road

ultreia

3

491

Wed Jun 15, 2016 4:38 pm

em3 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited