S-WORKS SL CARBON seatpost problem

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

Hello guys

Am I the only one with this problem?

Here are 2 different seats;
- SPECIALIZED TOUPE and
- SELLE SAN MARCO CONCOR CARBON

Now I have SPECIALIZED ROMIN EVO PRO and the same story. Actualy I try it for 15minutes and then give it a look, and there was already sign on the seat from the(I don`t know how should I call this thing, because I am no good English speaker), "Al-circle holder" in the top of the seatpost, but fortunately wasn`t torn yet.

Now I have sand horizontaly this "Al-circle holder", so there is now only half of the circle and now is ok, but looks ugly........Sorry I don`t have the picture, yet.

I must say the position of the seat is in the middle of the rails, so no extremes here

My LBS say I am the only one with this problem and that I sit so strange. I was on RETUL fiting with Toupe and now with Romin.
Attachments
20120523_111126.jpg
20120523_111016.jpg
20120523_111852.jpg

cllrhodgen
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:31 pm
Location: UK

by cllrhodgen

In the politest possible sense -

What do you weigh please?!

by Weenie


mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

between 66-70kgs

5 8 5
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Location: UK

by 5 8 5

It looks like your saddle has a short rail to top measurement.
Attachments
sw_sl4_saddle_600.jpg

User avatar
kgt
Posts: 6754
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:29 am
Location: Athens, Greece

by kgt

Is your saddle level? Cause it looks like pointind downwards.

cllrhodgen
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:31 pm
Location: UK

by cllrhodgen

That's really strange. I've not come across anything like that before.

You'd be best getting you LBS to take it up with Specialized directly now you've got lots of pictures as a reference point?

mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

Ok toupe yes, but now I have the same as yours accept it is EVO and the saddle was still touching till I sand it

mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

yes it is not level in this picture, because it was just puted on, to take a picture

ROMIN EVO PRO which I have now is 2% pointed with nose down(nose to top).....I will take a picture when I come home

mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

Here are the pictures

I believe everything is setup normaly
Attachments
20121207_151513.jpg
20121207_151734.jpg

User avatar
TwiggyTN
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:16 am

by TwiggyTN

Had this same issue with my Prologo Scratch Pro TR only I couldn't even get it mounted. Switched to Thompson Masterpiece and gave the post to a teammate after his cradle split. That post just doesn't work with some saddles.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

but 2 of these saddles are their own- SPECIALIZED

spud
Posts: 630
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:52 am

by spud

it looks like a very easy mod to grind off the upper part of the forward clamp where it contacts the saddle cover. While I don't have one in front of me, if I am seeing the part correctly, the piece to be ground off contributes nothing to the strength of the part, and would gain you 3-4 mm of clearance.

mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

if you zoom the last picture, you will see that I already did that.
But I needed to damage 2 saddles and spent couple of hundreds euros to figure that out

cllrhodgen
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 2:31 pm
Location: UK

by cllrhodgen

Contacted my mate inside speccy HQ UK.

His reply to your situation:

"Umm I've never heard or seen that before, that seat post type has a big clamp, I think the poster may have a early production of both parts. I would change the post for the side clamp option or give them a carbon saddle".

Speccy are SUPERB for warranty issues, it's something they fully pride themselves on, so if i were you, i'd get everything back to the LBS and get it sent back to Speccy for them to sort it out!?

by Weenie


mate
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:31 am
Location: Slovenia

by mate

Thanks

TOUPE is already at my LBS, but I love my EVO and it doesn`t exist in any stronger option than PRO

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post