HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:31 pm
Posts: 997
Hi All

I have a Garmin 500 which I use as a headunit with the SRM.

Is it possible to use this combo on a Turbo and still get power, speed, distance and cadence?

Would the SRM and Garmin Speed/Cadence sensor work along with the SRM or would I need a PC7 with sensors?

Any help appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:28 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 7466
Location: Geeeelong!
Distance is hard to judge, what metric is there to really compare it against? I personally think it's a little generous.

But really, trainer intervals should be about time and intensity - I would not be concerned about km's.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au Forum Jedi


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:28 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:48 am
Posts: 759
Location: Brighton, UK
One minor detail... If you like uploading your workouts to Strava, it wont recognize the "time" of your workout If you dont have a "distance". I use the Garmin cadence/speed sensor only for that.

Otherwise no problem using a powermeter with the Garmin as a headunit on a trainer.

_________________
Strava


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 78
Location: USA
The Garmin speed sensor will work fine, you don't need the cadence magnet though. I wait for my Garmin to get a satellite lock and then turn off GPS when riding indoors


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 8:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1561
Location: Houston, Texas
airwise wrote:
Would the SRM and Garmin Speed/Cadence sensor work along with the SRM or would I need a PC7 with sensors?

Your SRM reports cadence so you really dont need the Garmin Speed/Cadence sensor, only an ANT+ speed sensor such as Bontrager, Ciclosport BlueEye III, or a VDO Z-Series speed sensor mounted so as to record speed from the rear wheel.

_________________
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:09 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 7466
Location: Geeeelong!
aerozy wrote:
One minor detail... If you like uploading your workouts to Strava, it wont recognize the "time" of your workout If you dont have a "distance". I use the Garmin cadence/speed sensor only for that.

Yeah it will. Trust me on this, 8 weeks straight on the trainer has taught me well :lol:

You also can edit the ride and untick the 'stationary trainer' box.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au Forum Jedi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:31 pm
Posts: 997
Many thanks for the replies.

It was just that I had heard that when using the Garmin cadence/Speed sensor (of which I have three), the 500 will only accept cadence from that unit and will ignore the reading coming from the SRM.

Have any of you guys used this setup by chance?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 78
Location: USA
Mieke at Quarq said this regarding the cadence sensor
Quote:
The Garmin's will listen to cadence from the crankset based powermeter over the GSC10 cadence if both units are present on the same bike.

http://www.quarq.com/forum/thread/44/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:44 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1561
Location: Houston, Texas
airwise wrote:
It was just that I had heard that when using the Garmin cadence/Speed sensor (of which I have three), the 500 will only accept cadence.
What the Garmin accepts/records depends on how you setup the speed sensor when pairing with the Garmin. Once paired, go to Settings -> Bike Setup -> Profile # -> Speed/Cadence -> More Details and you will see that there are check boxes to select between Spd/Cadence, Speed, Cadence. If you highlight/select Speed, then search, once the GSC10 is found/paired, the Garmin Edge 500 should then record only speed.

_________________
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Foghat, GonaSovereign, Google Adsense [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 56 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Trainer wheel alternatives

in Road

seanblurr

2

418

Mon Mar 17, 2014 8:37 pm

G60 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Fave new Trainer: Wahoo KICKR

[ Go to page: 1 ... 4, 5, 6 ]

in Road

CharlesM

78

7081

Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:44 pm

HammerTime2 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano 7800 Chain, 9000 cassette, Wahoo trainer

in Road

Horacio

7

704

Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:34 am

Horacio View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin spaces

in Road

jacobHansen

3

590

Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:01 am

jockster View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano D-Fly w/Garmin

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Road

kij

39

1453

Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:15 pm

WheresWaldo View the latest post


It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:18 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB