Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:03 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:31 pm
Posts: 1049
Hi All

I have a Garmin 500 which I use as a headunit with the SRM.

Is it possible to use this combo on a Turbo and still get power, speed, distance and cadence?

Would the SRM and Garmin Speed/Cadence sensor work along with the SRM or would I need a PC7 with sensors?

Any help appreciated.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8233
Location: Geelong
Distance is hard to judge, what metric is there to really compare it against? I personally think it's a little generous.

But really, trainer intervals should be about time and intensity - I would not be concerned about km's.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:28 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:48 am
Posts: 762
Location: Mountains, Portugal
One minor detail... If you like uploading your workouts to Strava, it wont recognize the "time" of your workout If you dont have a "distance". I use the Garmin cadence/speed sensor only for that.

Otherwise no problem using a powermeter with the Garmin as a headunit on a trainer.

_________________
Strava


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 81
Location: USA
The Garmin speed sensor will work fine, you don't need the cadence magnet though. I wait for my Garmin to get a satellite lock and then turn off GPS when riding indoors


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 8:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1869
Location: Houston, Texas
airwise wrote:
Would the SRM and Garmin Speed/Cadence sensor work along with the SRM or would I need a PC7 with sensors?

Your SRM reports cadence so you really dont need the Garmin Speed/Cadence sensor, only an ANT+ speed sensor such as Bontrager, Ciclosport BlueEye III, or a VDO Z-Series speed sensor mounted so as to record speed from the rear wheel.

_________________
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8233
Location: Geelong
aerozy wrote:
One minor detail... If you like uploading your workouts to Strava, it wont recognize the "time" of your workout If you dont have a "distance". I use the Garmin cadence/speed sensor only for that.

Yeah it will. Trust me on this, 8 weeks straight on the trainer has taught me well :lol:

You also can edit the ride and untick the 'stationary trainer' box.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 8:31 pm
Posts: 1049
Many thanks for the replies.

It was just that I had heard that when using the Garmin cadence/Speed sensor (of which I have three), the 500 will only accept cadence from that unit and will ignore the reading coming from the SRM.

Have any of you guys used this setup by chance?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 81
Location: USA
Mieke at Quarq said this regarding the cadence sensor
Quote:
The Garmin's will listen to cadence from the crankset based powermeter over the GSC10 cadence if both units are present on the same bike.

http://www.quarq.com/forum/thread/44/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


Top
   
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 4:44 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 7:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1869
Location: Houston, Texas
airwise wrote:
It was just that I had heard that when using the Garmin cadence/Speed sensor (of which I have three), the 500 will only accept cadence.
What the Garmin accepts/records depends on how you setup the speed sensor when pairing with the Garmin. Once paired, go to Settings -> Bike Setup -> Profile # -> Speed/Cadence -> More Details and you will see that there are check boxes to select between Spd/Cadence, Speed, Cadence. If you highlight/select Speed, then search, once the GSC10 is found/paired, the Garmin Edge 500 should then record only speed.

_________________
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Turbo Trainer for a C60

in Road

TomColnago

1

259

Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:07 pm

showdown View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. S-works turbo or Conti gp4000 s2

in Road

Swannie

11

1833

Mon Jan 18, 2016 7:23 pm

racersir View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Bike Ahead Composites - Bi-Turbo Road, Any experience?

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

ImDobbsy

20

1798

Sun Jun 26, 2016 4:32 pm

jever98 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. New summer tire - Corsa G+ vs Strada Pro vs Turbo Cotton

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

micro553

29

2764

Tue May 17, 2016 4:20 pm

mpulsiv View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BB flex on trainer

in Road

mdusink

12

1035

Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:57 am

AZR3 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited