HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 26
Location: Copenhagen
Hello everybody

Do you have any tips / advice for running Trainingpeaks on a Mac?

Ex

- CrossOver? (Google said this won't work anymore)
- VMware and Windows XP? (I had this combo some years ago)
- Should I stick for Golden Cheetah instead?

Btw I have an 'old' macbook running Lion.

Thanks.

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sun May 27, 2012 2:58 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 10:03 pm
Posts: 779
Location: Back in the saddle...
I've been using GC 3.0 and have been thrilled so far. Not worth the effort involved just to use WKO.

_________________
"Deserve's got nothing to do with it." William Munny


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:07 pm
Posts: 15
I am running WKO+ using VMware on a Macbook Pro. It's kind of a PIA to have to fire up Windows every time I want to run WK)+ and it's pretty slow. I mainly use the online (premium) Training Peaks now since that has 95% of what WKO+ has. Occasionally I will download the online TP workouts into WKO+ to keep it updated.

CTracer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:41 pm
Posts: 30
I use Training Peaks with a Mac, it works fine (and quite quickly) through Windows XP with Parallels. You'll need to buy Parallels and find a Windows disc with a valid installation code.

As a caveat I'm not the most technically minded & installing everything was a convoluted process. The Parallels technical support is thankfully very good.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:18 am
Posts: 25
Anyone have experience running it on Linux? I could easily set up a VM, but wondering if there is a better way.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Posts: 1459
WKO+ 4 development is under way (for Mac too!).

Link http://blog.trainingpeaks.com/posts/201 ... -time.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

_________________
See My Bike & Tillquist's Kitchen !

Looking for a Garmin Edge Out-Front mount, click here !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:20 am
Posts: 83
Location: Minnesota
I use RaceDay, using windows on a Mac is a sin.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:34 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:07 pm
Posts: 15
They announced a Mac version of WKO+ this week but no date on release. Don't expect anytime soon, however. I am running WKO+ on my Mac using Fusion (very slow) but I find its easier just to use the online version of TP which has 95% of what WKO+ does. I upload to WKO+ occasionally. I'd wait for the native Mac version before jumping into WKO+.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 12:33 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB