HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:53 pm
Posts: 867
righty I recently got a garmin edge 800 with cadence and heartrate for a cheap price. Im planning on selling the cadence thing, however having just looked at it, its actually called a 'wireless speed and cadence sensor'. Up till now Ive just used the units gps to determine my speed - my question is whether if I installed the cadence/speed sensor, does this give a more accurate measurement of speed or is it not really necessary if Im not interested in cadence?

merci!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: edge 800 question
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:15 pm 


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:26 pm
Posts: 317
Location: Athens,Greece
It's only useful for indoor training....

_________________
Cycloblog.gr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 1581
Location: Near Horgen, Switzerland
Disagree.

The speed and cadence sensor avoids dropouts in speed when you ride through trees, underpasses and other places where GPS doesn't work. The GPS and speed sensor work together so that the speed is calibrated automatically. Without the GSC10 my forest rides were frustrating.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:44 am
Posts: 1390
really depends if speed matters to you.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:14 pm
Posts: 1368
Mr. Fish is right, the GSC10 is the way to go. You can manually calibrate your wheel cirumference for a very accurate reading. My girlfriend rides without the sensor and when we're riding together her garmin sounds like it's getting mad at her with it's beeping whenever it loses it's signal, particularly in forested areas with a lot of tree canopy overhead. And it does it a lot, whereas mine with the speed/cadence sensor never does that. We'll be putting one on her bike soon and she probably doesn't really care, but she's not as picky as me.

_________________
My Colnago C59
My Special Colnago EPQ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:55 pm
Posts: 169
Location: New Jersey
As others said its absolutely more accurate with the speed cadence sensor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 7412
Location: Los Angeles / Glendale, California
...or

1) It is extra weight and, most of the time, unnecessary.
2) It negates the beauty of a GPS-based computer: you can easily move that one unit between bikes in a matter of seconds without having to move extra sensors nor buy additional sensors for each bike you own.

Either way, your choice.

_________________
Exp001 || TeamLACBC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:14 am
Posts: 1200
+1
This is weight weenies after all..
I have a gc10, in a box some where...

_________________
project black


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:53 pm
Posts: 867
yup, sold it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:15 pm
Posts: 1251
Location: Hungary
That's great that there're people who sell them on, so those who value it can buy it. ;)
If you have a power meter and thus a cadence reading from the power meter I'd say the GSC is not neccessary on a road bike.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 3:11 pm
Posts: 4
I have an 800 and a powertap G3 but do not use the speed/cadence sensor. I have no issues with this configuration EXCEPT when I do indoor trainer rides and upload to Strava there is no data to be had.

_________________
Look 695SR
Basso Fast Cross
Felt DA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:19 pm
Posts: 127
Location: UK
I've always found it hard to get the GSC10 to reliably record speed (even when you manually set the circumference of the wheel) - so I just stick with GPS and record the cadence. I've had rides skewed by up to 30% by the speed sensor not reading correctly. For me they're too finicky and I'm more relaxed about the cadence being 100% accurate.

_________________
My cycling blog: http://girodilento.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:50 am
Posts: 315
For anyone unaware. If you set the speed to auto on the Garmin 800 it will use GPS data in comparison with what it is seeing as a speed reading from the wheel with the GSC-10 and set tire circumference based on that. If you have a GSC-10 it will use it because it is more accurate then GPS data.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: edge 800 question
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:03 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Nismo4x4, tannerbob and 45 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. New Garmin Edge 1000

[ Go to page: 1 ... 12, 13, 14 ]

in Road

Tillquist

208

20283

Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:06 pm

coppercook62 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Can the Edge 500 display what firmware my Powertap is using?

in Road

jspaceman

0

175

Sun May 25, 2014 3:13 am

jspaceman View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Edge 510 and Stages PM (both on latest firmware)

in Road

dha

3

367

Mon Jul 28, 2014 6:28 pm

FIJIGabe View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. after installing Stages, Edge can't find speed/cad sensor

in Road

Frankie - B

9

574

Sun May 11, 2014 11:47 pm

HammerTime2 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. About headset question

in Road

vtspot

5

262

Wed Sep 17, 2014 5:37 am

kya View the latest post


It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:03 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB