Campagnolo 11 speed chains missing link

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
digitalnorbs
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:49 pm

by digitalnorbs

Is there a reusable missing link thats made for the 11 speed, (im using whipperman on my 10speed chain right now) Looking for one that I can take off for chain cleaning as I please.

by Weenie


fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

KMC should have one that works with 11S chains such as their own and Campa's. Not sure about other brands.

Ciao, ;)
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

digitalnorbs
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:49 pm

by digitalnorbs

I was just reading that some one was using the reusable KMC link on their 11 speed chain, can some one confirm this.

I think the 11 speed you have mentioned is not ment to be reused.

User avatar
Wingnut
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 12:41 am

by Wingnut

Well you go to the KMC website... :smartass:

And you will see the 11spd link instructions...it says "non re-usable".

http://www.kmcchain.eu/cms/bijlagen/Con ... eUs_GB.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
"It's not the destination...it's the ride!"

User avatar
boysa
Posts: 1417
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 10:03 pm
Location: Back in the saddle...

by boysa

I've been using a KMC link on my Campagnolo 10s and now 11s chains for a few years. Very reusable. With 11s,however, you may need either pliers or their tool to open the link. It's much tighter than with the 10s.

Sent from my phone...
"Deserve's got nothing to do with it." William Munny

bm0p700f
in the industry
Posts: 3374
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:25 pm
Location: Glermsford, Suffolk U.K
Contact:

by bm0p700f

I also use the KMC links in the shop and on my bike on campy chains. Very good and cheaper if I have to remove the chain for some reason.

ldamelio
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:41 am
Location: Bucks County PA USA

by ldamelio

KMC 11 speed link advertised as single use only; not sure if you can open it with the Park pliers or something similar and re-use. Others may know. I use the KMC 10 speed link on my 11 speed Record chains and have done so since 11 speed came out. Works like a charm. Runs smooth, easy maintenance. Buy them in 6-packs from that popular auction site for less than the cost of one Campy chain pin.

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Les Pays Bas

by Sjoerd

Wasn't aware that the 10 speed missing link also works with 11 speed so I seriously appreciate this information. Are more people using this combination?

User avatar
Spinnekop
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:03 pm
Location: South Africa

by Spinnekop

I am also running the 10sp SRAM link on my 11sp setup. No problems! :thumbup:
"In my experience, there is only one motivation, and that is DESIRE.
No reason or principle contain it or stand against it........"

digitalnorbs
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:49 pm

by digitalnorbs

sorry, I made the mistake in my 2nd post, I wanted to know if any one is running the LMC 10 speed link, on their 11 speed set up, which looks like people do, thank you!

mjduct
Posts: 662
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:19 pm

by mjduct

just buy a KMC chain, works just as good, weighs less, and comes with the link!!!

and no friggin $200 chain tool.
I love campy, but I have no interest in singlehandedly bailing out the eurozone for that crap!

User avatar
boysa
Posts: 1417
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 10:03 pm
Location: Back in the saddle...

by boysa

Don't need a Campagnolo chain tool. I use an old Park tool I have to break the chain then install the missing link. I think Campy chains are works of art, maybe the best part of the gruppo. I've tried others and don't think the decrease in performance is worth the minor weight savings.

Sent from my phone...
"Deserve's got nothing to do with it." William Munny

User avatar
Sjoerd
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Les Pays Bas

by Sjoerd

Indeed, opening the chain with a regular tool is no problem at all, you only need the special tool for closing the chain. I opted for the KMC Missing Link, but have been using the non re-usable 11 speed version. I will switch to the re-usable 10 speed link now though.

User avatar
boysa
Posts: 1417
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 10:03 pm
Location: Back in the saddle...

by boysa

Sjoerd,
As I mentioned, I use the 11s link and find it to be very reusable. It is the same as the 10s link, really. The only difference is I need the pliers to remove it where I used to be able to break the 10s link apart by hand. BTW, I am referring to the KMC Missing Links.
"Deserve's got nothing to do with it." William Munny

by Weenie


User avatar
Miller
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:54 pm
Location: Reading, UK

by Miller

On new 11-speed chains I close them in the Campag way. Saying that, I'm not using the proper tool, just closing the link with an ancient chain tool then peening the rivet with a centre punch. This has worked for me without issues.

However I've also been transferring part-used 11-speed chains to another bike. What I have found doing that is:
- KMC 10-speed link closes the 11-speed chain with no apparent issues
- Campag 11-speed chain works well in a Campag 10-speed drivetrain.

It's worth using the proper Campag chains because they are very good.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post