HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:30 pm
Posts: 313
I bought a cheap wired PT built into a wheel and am really not fussed on using the PT head unit and my Garmin Cadence sensor is not usable either. I have been using the Garmin500 head unit with my other wireless wheel so was wondering if there is such an upgrade possible? So I'd need an upgrade to handle ANT+.

Thank you.

Mik.

_________________
It's not how much you spend on a bike it's how hard you can ride it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:00 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:49 pm
Posts: 57
no.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 61
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.

_________________
Twitter: @TTworldchamp
Web: http://637daystogo.blogspot.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:30 pm
Posts: 313
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Okay I am in luck as I have the SL model as the wired one. So, how is this sold and is it a conversion that can be done at home?

_________________
It's not how much you spend on a bike it's how hard you can ride it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:17 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 461
Do not quote me but I truely believe Cycleops would not sell you the parts even if you brought them cash. They insist that they are the only ones in the world to replace the bearings in their hubs, so why would the sell you the guts so you can do the conversion yourself.

Why don't you call Cycleops and find out from the source if you can do it or not and if they will sell you the parts or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 61
Mikmik wrote:
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Okay I am in luck as I have the SL model as the wired one. So, how is this sold and is it a conversion that can be done at home?


Where are you located?

No - it's not an at home job. It's a big job. And it's expensive. In the UK, I think it costs around £450 - and is done through Paligap. (final item plus shipping: http://powertap.paligapltd.co.uk/pricing.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

If you're located elsewhere - get in touch with Cycleops to find out where to send it and costs.

_________________
Twitter: @TTworldchamp
Web: http://637daystogo.blogspot.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:30 pm
Posts: 313
Okay thanks for the advice.

Will contact cyclops and see where I end up from there.

Thanks again.

Mik.

_________________
It's not how much you spend on a bike it's how hard you can ride it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 570
Location: Greater Pittsburgh
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Wish that was still true... CycleOps stopped upgrading the wired hubs to wireless hubs in 2010... they used to charge US$500 for it, but that left them with no real margin, so instead they offered new wireless hubs at a discounted price as an option to get wireless.

_________________
"Suddenly the thought struck me; my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 61
audiojan wrote:
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Wish that was still true... CycleOps stopped upgrading the wired hubs to wireless hubs in 2010... they used to charge US$500 for it, but that left them with no real margin, so instead they offered new wireless hubs at a discounted price as an option to get wireless.


They appear to still be doing the upgrade here in the UK through their service centre. In fact, one of my friends had it done recently. Maybe they aren't doing it in the US.

_________________
Twitter: @TTworldchamp
Web: http://637daystogo.blogspot.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:41 pm 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Cuki, Google Adsense [Bot], michaelten, sp3000, ToffieBoi and 45 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Converting Wired into Wireless SRM

in Road

Stefano

4

539

Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:14 am

micky View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. wireless di2

in Road

coppercook62

2

478

Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:52 am

coppercook62 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) The SM- EWW01 Di2 Wireless Transmitter can be hidden

in Road

morrisond

7

549

Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:57 pm

morrisond View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Di2 upgrade?

in Road

dane476

7

490

Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:29 am

wangsanegara View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Quarq upgrade, what to do...

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

audiojan

19

1364

Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:54 pm

boysa View the latest post


It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:08 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB