Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:53 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:30 pm
Posts: 313
I bought a cheap wired PT built into a wheel and am really not fussed on using the PT head unit and my Garmin Cadence sensor is not usable either. I have been using the Garmin500 head unit with my other wireless wheel so was wondering if there is such an upgrade possible? So I'd need an upgrade to handle ANT+.

Thank you.

Mik.

_________________
It's not how much you spend on a bike it's how hard you can ride it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:49 pm
Posts: 57
no.


Top
   
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:37 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:30 pm
Posts: 313
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Okay I am in luck as I have the SL model as the wired one. So, how is this sold and is it a conversion that can be done at home?

_________________
It's not how much you spend on a bike it's how hard you can ride it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:17 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 815
Do not quote me but I truely believe Cycleops would not sell you the parts even if you brought them cash. They insist that they are the only ones in the world to replace the bearings in their hubs, so why would the sell you the guts so you can do the conversion yourself.

Why don't you call Cycleops and find out from the source if you can do it or not and if they will sell you the parts or not.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
Mikmik wrote:
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Okay I am in luck as I have the SL model as the wired one. So, how is this sold and is it a conversion that can be done at home?


Where are you located?

No - it's not an at home job. It's a big job. And it's expensive. In the UK, I think it costs around £450 - and is done through Paligap. (final item plus shipping: http://powertap.paligapltd.co.uk/pricing.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)

If you're located elsewhere - get in touch with Cycleops to find out where to send it and costs.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:30 pm
Posts: 313
Okay thanks for the advice.

Will contact cyclops and see where I end up from there.

Thanks again.

Mik.

_________________
It's not how much you spend on a bike it's how hard you can ride it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 730
Location: Greater Pittsburgh
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Wish that was still true... CycleOps stopped upgrading the wired hubs to wireless hubs in 2010... they used to charge US$500 for it, but that left them with no real margin, so instead they offered new wireless hubs at a discounted price as an option to get wireless.

_________________
"Suddenly the thought struck me; my floor is someone elses ceiling" - Nils Ferlin


Top
   
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:56 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 8:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:43 pm
Posts: 204
audiojan wrote:
Pokerface07 wrote:
Yes you can! But I believe it has to be an SL version to upgrade it.

They basically remove the guts and replace them with wireless ones.


Wish that was still true... CycleOps stopped upgrading the wired hubs to wireless hubs in 2010... they used to charge US$500 for it, but that left them with no real margin, so instead they offered new wireless hubs at a discounted price as an option to get wireless.


They appear to still be doing the upgrade here in the UK through their service centre. In fact, one of my friends had it done recently. Maybe they aren't doing it in the US.

_________________
Twitter: @FormerTTchamp https://twitter.com/FormerTTchamp


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. FSA K-Force WE Wireless Electronic groupset

in Road

Miller

5

849

Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:50 am

Ritxis View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Help me upgrade to 11 (or 12?)

in Road

gitsome

10

690

Tue Nov 28, 2017 9:10 pm

AJS914 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Powertap Issues

in Road

greerso2004

4

986

Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:22 pm

greerso2004 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Powertap G3 lock nut

in Road

robsbc

4

612

Thu May 25, 2017 3:16 pm

fio View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Powertap P1 Pedals

in Road

mattCSUK

4

1073

Fri Feb 24, 2017 5:41 pm

Butcher View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], evan326, Google Adsense [Bot], mnmasotto, toshi, Yahoo [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited