Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:47 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:37 pm
Posts: 935
Location: it's raining, it must be uk
i noticed that there's now a "grommet clasp" available that is supposed to allow multiple tries at clamping, i'm assuming that makes removal and re-installation possible too

http://www.powercordz.com/brake-clasps/grommet-clasps

has anyone tried these? do they really allow removal/re-install?

if they do then i might get some for when it's time to replace my cables


Top
   
Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:06 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:45 pm
Posts: 37
After a few (three) long hours of trying to install a set of powercords on my new frame yesterday with the grommets I would say that they are not a good fix. Even after reading all the negative reviews of them I still decided to order a full set. I work full time as a wrench how hard could this be? After running my rear derailluer and securing the cable with the grommet either the shifting would be super stiff even after lubing all the housing or the cable would slip. I could not get proper cable tension without the cable slipping out. The grommets only seem to last for one clamp before they become so damaged that they fall apart. Needless to say I am running inexpensive cable and housing on my bike now. I am sending my full set of powercords back on monday.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 443
I never tried them for shifting, but I've got them for braking and once you've got over the frustration of fitting them they're spot on.

I've got DA 7970>Powercordz>EE Brakes (1st gen), and yes it was fiddly, but you forget about that pretty sharpish.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:11 pm
Posts: 255
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Dammit: Do you use PowerCordz housings with your PowerCordz cables/ee brakes?

_________________
Wilier Cento1 SR
13.10 lbs (5.95 kgs) w/Enve 3.4-Tune 70/170 & Conti Competitions tubulars
12.53 lbs (5.68 kgs) w/FarSports 24-Extralite & Vittoria CX EVO II tubulars


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 6:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 443
Nope, I tried it, and they didn't appear to add anything in terms of making it easier, so I just knotted the cord round the cable retention post, then used the clamp supplied with the brake to secure it.

I'll grab a picture later if my description is unclear.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:16 pm
Posts: 581
Location: Irvine, CA
I would love to see a photo of your EE brakes and powercodz. I have the same setup but could not get the little blue groumets and powercordz adequately fastened. I was worried they would not hold up. It seems like alot of people are getting frustrated with these cables. I took them off and put regular steel brake cables back on.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:16 pm
Posts: 443
Image

I remember now what was really annoying was that the square clamping plate would rotate as you tightened the clamping bolt.

I ended up using a flat spanner to hold it in place.

Anyway, 500 or so miles as pictured, works great- had my concerns at first but it just works.


Top
   
Posted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:38 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 1:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:16 pm
Posts: 581
Location: Irvine, CA
that looks great! i will give it a try. Thanks


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Engage Gravial brakes with Powercordz Swift

in Road

Kayrehn

0

115

Thu Aug 11, 2016 12:49 pm

Kayrehn View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. PowerCordz Swift installation. Newbie seeks advice.

in Road

WannabeWeenie

4

461

Fri Oct 30, 2015 5:01 pm

sungod View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 1swiftvelo, Bing [Bot], Juanmoretime, xena and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited