Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Sat Apr 30, 2016 4:55 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 9:01 pm
Posts: 2477
Location: Colorado
Your using the 7800 FD with your setup? If you used the 7700 it would be a better combonation. The chain wouldn't rub as much on the gears extremes.

_________________
MAMA SAID KNOCK YOU OUT! HUH!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:18 pm
Posts: 360
Location: Colorado
No rubbing on either end of the cassette on either ring. Using the 7800 coz it was part of the groupo. I just swapped the cassette and chain.

I know of a few people running the 7800 chain on 7700 cassettes with no issues.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 9:01 pm
Posts: 2477
Location: Colorado
I don't get it. You said your using it because it was part of the gruppo? But your using 9 speed right? Then it isn't part of the gruppo, it's part of the FD is part of the 7700 gruppo. The FD isn't part of the gruppo based on the Crankset, it's based on the shifting parts of the drive train components, ecluding the crankset.

_________________
MAMA SAID KNOCK YOU OUT! HUH!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 10:18 pm
Posts: 360
Location: Colorado
I got a deal on a 7800 group minus shifters (as it is for my TT bike) So I got 7800 brakes, all drivetrain, cranks and hubs. Swapped the hubs for some XTR hubs to build a 29er set of wheels. Swapped the cassette to a 9 speed abd bought a sram chain. Am considering swapping the brakes for the new zero gravity when there is some feedback on them

Wanted nine speed so i can swap wheels etc with my other bikes


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 5:56 pm
Posts: 97
Basically running Shimano 10 mixed with 9 doesn't work terribly well anyway!

I had 9 speed everything apart from 10 speed chainset, bb and rear mech. It worked fine when on the middle of the casette and you didn't change gear. It worked...but very badly. So pleased I have full 10 speed!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:59 am
Posts: 1386
Location: Sydney, Australia
swap the wheels?

Is the 10 speed cassettee compatible with 9 speed hubs?

Brian

P.S There is a 554g difference (without hubs) between Ultegra and DA.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 5:56 pm
Posts: 97
Bruiser wrote:
swap the wheels?

Is the 10 speed cassettee compatible with 9 speed hubs?

Brian

P.S There is a 554g difference (without hubs) between Ultegra and DA.


Yea, they just popped the new casette straight onto my Kysriums!

Yup.....sent my bike details to go on the Road Bike article section, no word yet though... :?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: beanbiken, Canofale, doogie2304, ethnik, Exabot [Bot], numbers505, Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited