Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:13 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 5:07 pm
Posts: 232
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Is switching an SRM PC7 between PM's on different bikes simply a matter of pairing the PC with the PM each time you switch? Long story, but in the next few months, I may end up with a Dura Ace PM on one bike and a Cannondale SRM, both wireless, on another. I assume it's simple, but want to confirm and couldn't find anything on the SRM site, ww, etc.

Also, the PM's would have different slopes, but I assume the pairing would account for that in terms of the PC7 receiving info. However, would there be any problem using Training Peaks if switching back and forth occasionally? Anything I'm missing?

Thanks.


Top
   
Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:40 am 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm
Posts: 1491
What you describe shouldn't be a problem. The only hiccup may come if you re-calibrate the powermeters and the measured slope differs from the original slope that is transmitted by the pm. You will then have to manually adjust the slope in the pc7 each time you switch between bikes, or do it with the software before or after recording the ride.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4773
Location: Canada
My personal recommendation is to turn-off the 'automatic' function of the PC7. I am not convinced that the 'bugs' are out of it yet. Rather, I recommend that you manually input slope, as in previous editions. You will be guaranteed to have no problems then.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:38 am
Posts: 92
Geoff wrote:
My personal recommendation is to turn-off the 'automatic' function of the PC7. I am not convinced that the 'bugs' are out of it yet. Rather, I recommend that you manually input slope, as in previous editions. You will be guaranteed to have no problems then.


digging up an old thread, but i wonder what these referenced bugs are.

i've been using a garmin device to update the slope in multiple SRMs (it's very convenient when you discovered the slope does not match what is set at the factory--thus, you don't have to remember (a) what the slope should be and (b) to make the change before every ride.

the power meter itself can store this value and transmit it back to the head unit. before i used this method, i found that no matter how careful i was, i did not always remember to switch the slope when riding a different bike, and this resulted in some funky situations.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 3:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4773
Location: Canada
Try it and you'll see what I mean. As you are doing your workouts, the wattage sometimes just 'looks' and 'feels' wrong (high or low). The other 'problem' is that the slope of the PowerMeter is set at the factory when it is built. When you re-calibrate over the years, the 'original' slope is still set in the PowerMeter. If you choose the automatic slope detector, it will choose the old slope. In order to avoid that (and be 100% sure), you can hard-key the slope.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Switching wheels between 10 and 11 speed

in Road

McNamara

7

506

Fri Sep 23, 2016 7:37 pm

kode54 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Switching rear derailleur pulleys from 11t to 13t - is it possible?

in Road

alcatraz

1

283

Wed Oct 12, 2016 8:03 am

Marin View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Switching from Speedplay to SPD-SL: Extra Leg Fatigue

in Road

KS59

10

824

Wed May 04, 2016 8:31 pm

Rick View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Switching quarq powermeter between specialized cranksets

in Road

Louie

5

508

Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:04 pm

topflightpro View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Chain line problem

in Road

miltmaster3

10

398

Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:18 pm

jekyll man View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bluechip, evan326, Fiery, Yahoo [Bot] and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited