HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 4:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 3:10 am
Posts: 464
Location: Airport Lounge
On the Dierl & Obermayer Lightweight (Also Kinetick) wheels with carbon fiber spokes, what do people use for a wheel sensor magnet? I know the ADAs come with a built in magnet, but not these. Anyone know?


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Fri May 09, 2003 4:43 am 


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 9:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2002 9:57 pm
Posts: 248
Location: Latvia
Take any magnet you can find in your home and tape it to spoke. Easy!

_________________
Light weight everything!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Carbon Spoke Magnet
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2003 10:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 4:49 am
Posts: 1902
When I rode Corima 4 spoke wheels for TTing I epoxied a magnet to the wheel (Well actual I epoxied a piece if bent New Aero spoke to the carbon and the magnet to that. Now as committed weight weenie I would use a peice of bent CX-Ray...).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 2:02 pm
Posts: 1
only the rims 180 gr claimed (no the weehlset) used or new. ????

_________________
Get fast success in http://spanishprograms.com/ and questions by using our latest exam spanishprograms - beginning spanish lessons We also offer up-to-date British council


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:48 pm
Posts: 12
You can use tiny neodymium magnet (available on internet and in hardware stores). They are super cheap and comes with wide range of sizes an shapes. I would recommend using something like "Super Glue" because it's strong enough to keep magnet in place and also weak enough to allow removing it without leaving any marks. Also there is "Tune Pulsar" if you like to have branded item :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:36 pm
Posts: 13
Upgrade to Garmin's new accelerometer sensors.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm
Posts: 537
cwar wrote:
Upgrade to Garmin's new accelerometer sensors.


i had one on my rear hub...and it just didn't look right. took it off.

_________________
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9070 + Enve SES 4.5 CK hubs
- Parlee Z5 SLi + DA9070 + Enve 3.4 Tune/Dash hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9070 + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + Campy SR11 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:39 pm 
Offline
Resident Pro

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:42 pm
Posts: 2211
don't use one at all. attach the garmin speed sensor to your crank arm.

_________________
Galleries:
→ mike's unique bike
→ Mike's weightweenie submission - ruegamer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:19 am
Posts: 717
Location: Brisbane, Oz
cwar wrote:
Upgrade to Garmin's new accelerometer sensors.
So ugly though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:13 pm
Posts: 168
Location: The land of Oz
[/quote]So ugly though.[/quote]

Totally agree. Have both type and whilst the new type is very convenient I prefer not to see that big lump on my hub. Will probably go back to the GS10 on bike #1.
The Corima's I am waiting on have the embedded magnet so I won't need the spoke jobbie.

Steve

_________________
Ahhh, coffee & carbon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:31 am
Posts: 45
Why use a speed sensor at all? - just let your Garmin use GPS for speed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:38 pm
Posts: 112
964Cup wrote:
Why use a speed sensor at all? - just let your Garmin use GPS for speed.


Loving the Porsche reference!

Don't they say, magnet and speed sensor is more accurate more of the time? In the car at least, the Satnav is great for measuring your speed when constant. But it has lag when responding to changes in your speed.

I just purchased a second GSC-10 for my new bike, DC Rainmaker made the old system sound perhaps slightly more accurate and less prone to interference. Didn't like the look of the hub sensor either.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:57 am 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 652
Garmin GPS drops out way to often in my neck of the woods. The problem is that there is too much trees that get in the way.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2015 11:57 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2015 2:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:54 pm
Posts: 35
Get the Pulsar or the Carbonice one, which is a similar one which comes in black I believe. Will be ultra subtle on the spoke


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: acetonehk, Bing [Bot], cmcdonnell, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Marin, mariovalentim, prebsy, Steenj and 49 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Carbon fibre spoke magnet bracket

in Road

SebK

0

149

Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:56 am

SebK View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Colnago C60 carbon fiber origin

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Road

nga

15

1349

Wed Jan 13, 2016 7:31 pm

Calnago View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Sapim Carbon Spokes

in Road

ColnagoEPQ

1

843

Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:12 am

TimmS View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Is cadence magnet necessary when installing SRM power meter?

in Road

clm2206

10

566

Sun Jul 26, 2015 3:27 am

goodboyr View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Tarmac SL4 with SRM - Frame Clearance for cadence magnet

in Road

micahb

2

348

Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:50 am

tetonroller View the latest post


cron
It is currently Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:37 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB