Preview on upcoming Paper Build Configurator

News, announcements and discussions about Weight Weenies. (members, please do not start topics in here.)

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
elendil
Posts: 301
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 6:27 pm
Location: Karlsruhe (Germany)
Contact:

by elendil

and in the .pdf file the 2nd inner tube entry was missing and every entry after that (tires, cables, bottle cages...).

by Weenie


User avatar
Florian
Site Admin
Posts: 891
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

by Florian

elendil wrote:I miss an entry for rear shocks, as many FS-frame weights are given w/out shocks. Also a 2nd entry for brakes is missing. Some have different front and rear brakes, and in most cases weight is given for front and rear brake separately.

Added.
elendil wrote:and in the .pdf file the 2nd inner tube entry was missing and every entry after that (tires, cables, bottle cages...).

Fixed - hopefully! :lol:

User avatar
elendil
Posts: 301
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 6:27 pm
Location: Karlsruhe (Germany)
Contact:

by elendil

Yes, it works fine!

Perhaps you could add another entry for some special parts that were not mentioned above, e.g. crank bolts if weight is given w/out them or grease and stuff (difference between the weight of all single parts and the complete bike), so this weight can be added. And a line for additional information (special features, alternate tires, type of use, e.g. CC, road, triathlon...).

User avatar
Bruiser
Posts: 1386
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:59 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

by Bruiser

An advanced feature could be to choose the groupset and then modify the components you have changed.

Where do I find the weights for bikes?

Brian

User avatar
Florian
Site Admin
Posts: 891
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

by Florian

elendil wrote:Perhaps you could add another entry for some special parts that were not mentioned above, e.g. crank bolts if weight is given w/out them or grease and stuff (difference between the weight of all single parts and the complete bike), so this weight can be added.

That's what those custom entries at the end of the page are meant for.
You can define up to 5 custom entries and modify them to your needs.
For a custom crank set crank fixing bolts and chainring bolts are still missing, I know.
I guess I'll have to split the bolts category up to fix this.

elendil wrote:And a line for additional information (special features, alternate tires, type of use, e.g. CC, road, triathlon...).

Yes, I will add additional fields like this.

bruiser wrote:An advanced feature could be to choose the groupset and then modify the components you have changed.

I really have no idea how to include such a feature.
It's almost impossible to add group weights, since there are so many parameters to think of - crank arm length, BB axle type, chainring toothcounts, cassette toothcounts, different hub types, brake type, STI or separate shift/brake levers and so on.

bruiser wrote:Where do I find the weights for bikes?

Bike weights for complete bikes encounter the same difficulties.
One bike is not like the other, a +/- 200 g difference on a 10 kg bike is easily possible.
Not to mention manufacturers who change the specs of their bikes during the season.
I already get enough "the weight you listed can't be true, mine is much lighter/heavier" emails, I'm not keen to get even more. :lol:

User avatar
Bruiser
Posts: 1386
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:59 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

by Bruiser

No problem, you confussed me when you said:
But for next few weeks I'll concentrate on adding new bikes.


Brian

User avatar
Florian
Site Admin
Posts: 891
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

by Florian

Bruiser wrote:No problem, you confussed me when you said:
But for next few weeks I'll concentrate on adding new bikes.

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/articles.php?ID=61
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/articles.php?ID=62

User avatar
Ye Olde Balde One
Posts: 495
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 4:26 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA

by Ye Olde Balde One

Florian wrote:
Bruiser wrote:No problem, you confussed me when you said:
But for next few weeks I'll concentrate on adding new bikes.

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/articles.php?ID=61
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/articles.php?ID=62


I just wanted to say thank you for all the work Florian. :D
Ride lightly!

User avatar
Cyco
Posts: 1903
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 4:49 am

by Cyco

Great work Florian, its working really well.

Is it possible to add the ability build wheels from components, rathur than those already built, when you have some time?
Success is how far you you bounce back up after being knocked down

Dave
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 5:29 am

by Dave

The paper builder does not work at all with Apple's Safari browser v1.2.3

User avatar
Florian
Site Admin
Posts: 891
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

by Florian

Dave wrote:The paper builder does not work at all with Apple's Safari browser v1.2.3

Unfortunately I'm unable to test it since I don't have any access to an OS X Mac with Safari.
Can you tell me what's exactly wrong?
Is the layout screwed? Screenshot maybe?
Image Image

Dariusz Kaczmarczyk
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:08 pm

by Dariusz Kaczmarczyk

I found bug in PBC configuration. In section handlebar the folowing measage is displayed:
Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /usr/www/users/starbike/weightweenies/includes/dbwrapper.php on line 142
please to corect
regards
Darek

User avatar
Florian
Site Admin
Posts: 891
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

by Florian

Dariusz Kaczmarczyk wrote:I found bug in PBC configuration. In section handlebar the folowing measage is displayed:
Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /usr/www/users/starbike/weightweenies/includes/dbwrapper.php on line 142
please to corect
regards
Darek

Thanks for the report, should be fixed now.
Image Image

SenorBlanco
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:53 pm

by SenorBlanco

Warning: Wrong parameter count for stripslashes()

I get it A LOT. Every time I click submit, I get another one. So by the time I get my bike configured I've got about 45 errors up top that I have to scroll by.

Tried first in Mozilla Firefox 1.5, then IE 6.0.290, same problem both browsers on multiple computers.

However, this is a very handy tool and I want to say a personal thank you to the builder. Nice work.

User avatar
RazorV3
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Belgium

by RazorV3

How can you add the Avid juicy Carbon's to the list??

I cant find them anywhere..

Thanks :wink:

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post