Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:22 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED
- Avatars cannot be uploaded ✔ FIXED

Please note that we will soon do some changes in WW board template design in case to get a fully mobile/desktop responsiveness board!
If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:35 pm
Posts: 739
Location: Toronto
Is there any way to shed some weight of the DURA ACE 7800 STI shifters, like the clamps perhaps? Anything?

_________________
BILL NIKO, YOU WILL NOT EVER BE FORGOTTEN.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 4:05 pm
Posts: 1288
get your drill onto the levers....lol

that's some damn expensive holes you'd be drilling!

most interested to see what comes up here...


Top
   
 Post subject:
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:59 pm 


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:37 am
Posts: 431
Location: Colorado
How about the BTP clamps. claimed to save 18 gr. This is from memory, so not really sure about it, can someone verify?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:35 pm
Posts: 739
Location: Toronto
I am all for 'home-made' modifications, but not on my brand new set of DA STI shifters... maybe in time...

_________________
BILL NIKO, YOU WILL NOT EVER BE FORGOTTEN.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:35 pm
Posts: 739
Location: Toronto
I thought the BTP clamps were for Campy Ergo's...

_________________
BILL NIKO, YOU WILL NOT EVER BE FORGOTTEN.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 4:05 pm
Posts: 1288
i am under the same impression as well that BTP are for campy levers...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:56 pm
Posts: 3722
Location: Wichita, KS
HOWMUCHDOESITWEIGH? wrote:
I am all for 'home-made' modifications, but not on my brand new set of DA STI shifters... maybe in time...

broke down and went STI aye?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 1:49 am
Posts: 533
Location: SE USA
They do make them for Shimano (well they did them for 9 speed) but IMHO I would avoid them.

I had a set for my Campy Ergos. The clamp is super strong. No problem there. But the bolt that holds the shifter to the bars is aluminum. To me the possibility of that aluminum bolt breaking while I was on the hoods on a climb was high. If they used a steel bolt there, I wouldn't have any qualms about it.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 4:41 pm
Posts: 150
Location: Hong Kong
replace T bolt and mount blot


Attachments:
mountbolt.jpg
mountbolt.jpg [ 15.97 KiB | Viewed 2692 times ]
Tbolt.jpg
Tbolt.jpg [ 13.32 KiB | Viewed 2691 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:35 pm
Posts: 739
Location: Toronto
drjones96 wrote:
broke down and went STI aye?


:oops: I did... Looking back, my original plans were dumb... I was actually going to doing Campy Ergo's with a DA RD + JTEK shiftmate, but realised the importance of sound shifting and wasn't willing to experiment.

_________________
BILL NIKO, YOU WILL NOT EVER BE FORGOTTEN.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 1:49 am
Posts: 533
Location: SE USA
@rothshek, the bolt was bonded into the carbon on the clamps I had, so no replacing them :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:56 pm
Posts: 3722
Location: Wichita, KS
HOWMUCHDOESITWEIGH? wrote:
:oops: I did... Looking back, my original plans were dumb... I was actually going to doing Campy Ergo's with a DA RD + JTEK shiftmate, but realised the importance of sound shifting and wasn't willing to experiment.


I don't think you'll be sorry you went with STI instead of your previous idea. Sound shifting indeed especially if you get the 7800 FD in combination with the 7800 Shifters. The smoothness for the FD shifting is lightyears ahead of what it used to be.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:35 pm
Posts: 739
Location: Toronto
@ DrJones

So I got the DA FD + RD 7800 w/ the STI shifters, but my cassette is a Steinbach and my chain a KMC X10; my mind is starting to tell me to get a DA cassette and chain, but another part of me says to go ww and stick with what you got? Do you or anyone think I can still achieve smooth crisp shifting DA is know for?

_________________
BILL NIKO, YOU WILL NOT EVER BE FORGOTTEN.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:56 pm
Posts: 3722
Location: Wichita, KS
I don't really have any experience with the cassette/chain you mentioned but from what I understand the KMC chain is a pretty good one and should work well with your setup. If you've heard good reports about your cassette I see no issue with sticking with it.
I'll tell you what I've noticed about mine. If I've been riding for a few hours in nasty conditions (ie dusty, wet, road grime, etc) that usually gum-up a chain/cassette. My rear shifting gets to be a bit on the crappy side. My previous 9spd groupo wouldn't have been affected nearly as much by these conditions.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 6:58 pm 
Offline
Resident Pro

Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 9:13 pm
Posts: 1918
Location: Australia/Czech-Rep.
dont laugh,

but on the inside of them, they have two screws, I undid these and took the cap off. This cap was to seal the flightdeck. and there was a cable in there. So I ripped that out. I will never use flight deck! SRM first, Polar, then..........

totaly, I think.......8-10grams forgot and Im not taking the off to weigh it!


Top
   
 Post subject:
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 6:58 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Dura Ace rd-7800 with 12-30T cassette?

in Road

eyedrop

6

744

Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:25 pm

Team Murray View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Tuning a Dura Ace SRM for lower weight

in Road

jamesbass

8

820

Tue Nov 03, 2015 6:33 pm

sadisticnoob View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Shimano Dura Ace 7700 9 Speed shifter shims - where to buy ?

in Road

KarlC

3

223

Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:23 pm

KarlC View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Is 11 speed Dura Ace chain compatible with Dura Ace 7900 gruppo?

in Road

wootenlakeguy

3

578

Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:37 am

pdlpsher1 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 7800 chainrings with 11speed setup?

in Road

Lightweenie

3

271

Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:27 pm

BikeAnon View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BeeSeeBee, BRM, MSNbot Media, Rascal, shing1919, spooky817 and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited