HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:30 pm
Posts: 2
I like to DIY most all things and can't seem to find this info anywhere online:

I installed a used RED 2012 Quarq BB30 on my CAAD10 and was able to dial out play with the pictured preload adjuster and pictured spacers all well and fine (it only came with these). What confuses me is why my chainline with that provided drive-side spacer is so bad: even slightly cross chaining is very bad, much worse than with the Ultegra 6700+GXP adapter kit I was using before. Did I not receive another (smaller) drive side spacer, do I need to space that side on my own, or am I just as confused as I think I am? It looks as if there's still plenty of room before the inner ring hits the chain stay or the putty'd magnet hits the spider. Thanks.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:26 am
Posts: 411
Location: USA
Go to the Quarq website.. they have a detailed page and video on installing with different bikes. Most of it is regarding the spacer.


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:05 pm 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:30 pm
Posts: 2
I think I may be getting closer. The black spacer that I referred to outside the preload adjuster isn't a spacer at all. That should be attached or bonded to the crank-arm. I got my crankset used and that piece is now loose, free to slide on the spindle. Because of this the Quarq tech docs made no sense to me as I had an unaccounted for spacer which was really just part of the crank.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:46 pm
Posts: 82
how would that affect chainline if it were supposed to be there anyway? Just curious.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:04 am
Posts: 2360
Location: Mississippi
Someone correct me if I am wrong, but I believe that you need to get a SRAM bb to work in a Cannondale BB30 frame.

_________________
Cervelo R3

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=125962


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], riceboy, Yahoo [Bot] and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. How to install a BB30 crank on OSBB - cowboy style!

in Road

Elrey

0

605

Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:38 pm

Elrey View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BB help bb30 quarq into bb86

in Road

carbon337

5

277

Wed Jun 25, 2014 12:33 pm

grover View the latest post

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies. BB30 SRAM/Quarq Red 22 crankset in BB86 Addict frame?

in Road

gfk60

1

502

Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:22 pm

5 8 5 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. (im)Possible to install a Campy SRM on a 386 Evo BB ?

in Road

vlastrada

2

489

Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:46 am

vlastrada View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. At home Di2 install....

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Road

chiltonp

35

2389

Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:24 pm

rma View the latest post


It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:22 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB