Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:35 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:30 pm
Posts: 2
I like to DIY most all things and can't seem to find this info anywhere online:

I installed a used RED 2012 Quarq BB30 on my CAAD10 and was able to dial out play with the pictured preload adjuster and pictured spacers all well and fine (it only came with these). What confuses me is why my chainline with that provided drive-side spacer is so bad: even slightly cross chaining is very bad, much worse than with the Ultegra 6700+GXP adapter kit I was using before. Did I not receive another (smaller) drive side spacer, do I need to space that side on my own, or am I just as confused as I think I am? It looks as if there's still plenty of room before the inner ring hits the chain stay or the putty'd magnet hits the spider. Thanks.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:26 am
Posts: 600
Location: USA
Go to the Quarq website.. they have a detailed page and video on installing with different bikes. Most of it is regarding the spacer.


Top
   
Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:05 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 1:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:30 pm
Posts: 2
I think I may be getting closer. The black spacer that I referred to outside the preload adjuster isn't a spacer at all. That should be attached or bonded to the crank-arm. I got my crankset used and that piece is now loose, free to slide on the spindle. Because of this the Quarq tech docs made no sense to me as I had an unaccounted for spacer which was really just part of the crank.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:46 pm
Posts: 84
how would that affect chainline if it were supposed to be there anyway? Just curious.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:04 am
Posts: 2693
Location: Mississippi
Someone correct me if I am wrong, but I believe that you need to get a SRAM bb to work in a Cannondale BB30 frame.

_________________
Mosaic RS-1
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=138478

Cielo by Chris King Cross Racer
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=134376


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Older Quarq BB30 - still worth it?

in Road

Clean39T

4

613

Fri May 12, 2017 9:46 pm

simoncx View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. BB30 circlips when fitting BB30-24mm Bottom Bracket

in Road

thepainandsuffering

2

365

Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:26 pm

hambini View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Di2 install help

in Road

stub

4

795

Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:37 am

stub View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) How to install the Canyon Aeroad cf slx 8.00 seatpost

in Road

edenn

3

1160

Mon May 15, 2017 4:40 pm

Shrike View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Attachment(s) How to install a Campy SR 11s fr. derailleur clamp-on 35mm on a Colnago Super?

in Road

Kupepe

0

275

Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:36 pm

Kupepe View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], dricked, fromtrektocolnago, Google Adsense [Bot] and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited