Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Fri May 27, 2016 12:04 am
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 934
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I fitted my Madone 5.9 frame with older SRAM Red that I had spare after upgrading the groupset on my Parlee Z5.
I set the brakes up according to the Trek/Bontrager manual, which has 2 scenes for pull ratio, one for Shimano and another for SRAM / Campagnolo. The braking was pretty poor, and I tried a number of things like swapping pads, checking cable ends opened properly post cutting, and living with Teflon Dry Lube.
I Spent a bit of time fiddling this morning, I lubed the cables with dry Teflon lube, shortened the cable housing under the BB by 1cm, and I set the brakes up on the Shimano setting to see if it would improve the braking.
Obviously the 2010 SRAM Red has a similar pull ratio to Shimano.
The brakes feel much better now.
Not as good as my 2013 SRAM Red, but a massive improvement over the dead feel and poor stopping that I was experiencing before.
I am really relieved that I now have brakes that work.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

_________________
Ozrider - Western Australia
Parlee Z5 XL (6055g/13.32lbs) Trek Madone 5.9 (7052-7500g)Jonesman Columbus Spirit (8680g)
Chase your dreams - it's only impossible until it's done


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:52 am
Posts: 401
i have Bontrager brakes that I have fiddled with a tiny bit but have not set up/ridden. When squeezing the caliper directly, it feels like there is quite a bit of stiction - wonder if it is the pivots, or the mechanism which transmits torque from the cable mount caliper to the other caliper. based on your comments, it might be the mechanism - feels like there is sliding between two high friction surfaces, and wonder if some lube placed in that area might help.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:06 am
Posts: 934
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Spud, what groupset are you using?
I used some grease on the mounting bolts, Teflon dry lube on the cables, made sure the cable outer under the BB is 18 cm as stipulated in the assembly directions, and used an awl to make sure all cable ends are nicely opened up after cutting to length.
I am using 2010 SRAM RED, and am using the Shimano setting to get the right pull ratio.

The brakes are working quite well now, about 85% as well as my normal Dura Ace and SRAM Red on my other bikes. Not perfect, but braking is acceptable now, where previously it was really poor.

Apparently EE Brakes are bringing out direct mount brakes soon, according to Fairwheel bikes who have a prototype set on their blog.

_________________
Ozrider - Western Australia
Parlee Z5 XL (6055g/13.32lbs) Trek Madone 5.9 (7052-7500g)Jonesman Columbus Spirit (8680g)
Chase your dreams - it's only impossible until it's done


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:06 pm
Posts: 511
From the pictures on FWB blog, I'm not sure that there's enough space within the recessed area at the top of the madone fork to fit the EE front brakes on...

_________________
Trek Mad-one 7 Series team colours http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=115500&start=15


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 12:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:03 pm
Posts: 6
I contacted EE brakes about their prototype brake and said that it will work with Madones. However to clear the headtube a rear brake would have to be used on the front instead. So when they come out you would order 2 rear brakes. I saw the pics, unfortunately I don't have them saved on this computer.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campagnolo direct mount brake

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

Lafolie

27

3293

Mon May 09, 2016 4:36 pm

GASer View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. 4iiii power meter and direct mount brake

in Road

raver2046

5

562

Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:50 pm

raver2046 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Direct Mount Brakes

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

damond

16

2157

Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:25 am

ph View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Tektro direct mount brakes

in Road

Lafolie

3

574

Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:38 am

joepac View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Direct Mount Road Fork

in Road

campbellrae

0

283

Sat Oct 17, 2015 4:07 pm

campbellrae View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited