Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:42 pm

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:14 am
Posts: 29
Hello,

Any RCA owner with electronic group had this problem?

On my RCA frameset, the hole for the front derailleur wire is too big to cover it with Shimano grommets...

Image
Image
ImageImage
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:14 am
Posts: 29
Sorry for the pics, now updated


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 7:10 pm
Posts: 491
Send it back.

Although it sounds flippant a product at this pricepoint should involve no compromises at all. I can think of several solutions, but would say that the customer should not have to fudge a solution at this level.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:10 am 
Offline
Best Freak bike poster

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 9:34 am
Posts: 423
Location: Melb, Australia
From memory there are two different sized grommets available from Shimano, you may have the smaller of the two.

_________________
CAAD10 Di2


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Posts: 395
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily
tcurtbike wrote:
From memory there are two different sized grommets available from Shimano


6mm Round
7 x 8mm Oval


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:23 pm
Posts: 614
Location: Austin, TX
ghisallo2003 wrote:
Send it back.


Kinda jumping the gun there. That big hole is intended for the older Di2 plugs or some other larger cable. The hole behind the seat tube is the intended route for e-tube wiring to the FD.

_________________
My Cervelo R5
My Lynskey Helix
My MTB


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 3:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:29 am
Posts: 35
A great deal of frames now have larger diameter openings for wiring, and the supplied Shimano groms are too small.

You could send it back like a dick, or just get some campy or generic plugs that will fit the frame properly, fit the cable properly, and start riding the thing.

Why?

Di2 standard was released to frame manufacturers before Campy officially released their stuff, and grommets were made to fit those holes.

Then Campy officially came out with EPS.......

The Campy wire terminals are wider, because they don't give a shit what Shimano does. -So many unknowing folks who built a bike with the brand new EPS and an (electronic ready) frameset found out that these frames were built for the Di2 standard, and subsequently had to drill the frames out or get upset about how multi-thousand dollar bike frames and parts sometimes don't go together like legos..

Now, most manufacturers are widening holes on upper-end whips for EPS, and the standard Shimano style plugs are too small for larger Omni-electronic friendly frames..

I'm not trying to be a naughty cock here, but I have heard this over and over in the last few years, and it is just an issue of Campagnolo making things difficult. -So now frames can have have bigger holes, and we can be supplied with grommets that are too small.

Hope this was entertaining. Toodles.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Posts: 1114
Location: Canada
Sugru is great for this. Make your own grommets.

_________________
My RCA


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:14 am
Posts: 29
I tried all kind of Shimano grommets, SM-GM01 of 6mm, SM-GM02 od 7x8mm and grommet for old Di2 7x8mm also.
All them are loose on the FD frame hole.

I looked at Shimano and Campagnolo specifications for frame holes and are the same: 7x8mm

Image

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:09 am
Posts: 4
Hi Please I need help for make bit my frameset Orbea Orca 2012.My frame is mechanical and wish install my DA 9070Di2 internal system so I wish make bits same position frameset Orbea Orca eletronic.I have all photos holes frame eletronic and I wish make identic but....What fiber carbon 0.8mm? Tungsten carbide bit?
Sorry my english
Thx

Sandro


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:00 pm 
Offline
Shop Owner

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am
Posts: 665
Drill with little pressure. I used a carbide bite. A cheaper bit could be used but it will not last as long. Smaller drill size than what you need. Use a small stone or carbide grinder bit to grind the hole to the final size. I did mine and had no problems.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:09 am
Posts: 4
Butcher wrote:
Drill with little pressure. I used a carbide bite. A cheaper bit could be used but it will not last as long. Smaller drill size than what you need. Use a small stone or carbide grinder bit to grind the hole to the final size. I did mine and had no problems.

ok Thanks!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], CanadianBiker, Denavelo, Dodger747, fh8425, flafonta, Olde5123, rasmusic, shk1, WESTMOTORSPORTS and 31 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited