Seeding Performance Manager After Vacation?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

FredBloggs

by FredBloggs

Hi All,

I have been using a PM since Dec 2010, during which time I have not taken a Vacation without the Bike. 

Currently I am in the middle of a 2 week Vacation, with Training resuming next week. 

As my TSB will more than likely be off the positive scale upon my return do I need to "seed" my initial CTL & ATL values?

E.G. If my TSB was +100 upon resuming Training & I then do 4 rides and reduce my TSB back down to 0 obviously my legs would be a little tired. However, due to tiredness, the feeling in my legs would not correlate to the feeling generally associated with a TSB of 0. 

Obviously, I don't want to be digging an unnecessary hole for myself by overtraining, due to the Performance Manager showing a higher TSB than would otherwise be expected. 

Any Thoughts?

Thanks

FredBloggs

by FredBloggs

Anybody :(

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

me

by me

First of all I don't have a powermeter however I have read THE book.

I would think that if you have been on vacation and not ridden then you dont seed, just treat it as a break.

From my understanding, seeding is used for initial setup to give the software a starting point. Therefore if by seeding you want to enter training loads for the time you have been off then the info both in and out of the software will not be accurate. I think seeding is for when you have been training but not recording values or have lost values etc.

From Training Peaks: