Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About
It is currently Mon May 30, 2016 12:16 pm
Recently the board software has been updated and there are some known bugs/failures:
- Avatars are currently not being displayed ✔ FIXED
- Tapatalk connection is currently broken ✔ FIXED

If you find more errors please post it here: http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=139062


All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4713
Location: Canada
Well, you know what I am going to suggest, don't you. Seriously, though, if you are running Record, you might want to wait for the Campagnolo Record version of SRM. Are you running conventional rings or Compact (or both)?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8171
Location: Geelong
Until I can buy it it's as good as vapour ware (as sexy as it looks).

And standard.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 3036
Location: Canada
TP

just get an SRM. Whatever cranks suits you best. My DA srm is very convenient because I can swap it from TT bike to road bike in less the 5 min.

Will you buy new or used? What are you looking for? SRM or quarq?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8171
Location: Geelong
Ideally something I can run with my Campag.

Not sure the $$$ will stretch to a Tune Smart Foot...

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 2:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 3036
Location: Canada
could you run a rotor? They are f-ing nice srm cranks!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 3:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Posts: 4713
Location: Canada
The thing with Uli is that if he shows it, he produces it (even the solar-powered PowerMeter was available, albeit for a limited time). If you don't want to wait, you can always get an SRM in 135mm bcd for your Campagnolo rings...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 12:52 am
Posts: 139
Location: Werribee, Australia
I used shimano 10sp chain rings on both my srm cranks (fsa and da7900) for a year and had no issues what so ever with wear on parts or shifting.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8171
Location: Geelong
I know Shimano 10sp works, one of the boys has done it.

Which SRM's come with a 135BCD?

And I don't mind the Rotor ones either to be honest...

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:35 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2582
I only had 10spd campy a while back and worked fine with the FSA SRM.

As others have mentioned SRM gets my vote for proven reliability and easy to switch between bikes. Although it's a pain to change chainrings I've even had it on the track bike.

_________________
"Physiology is all just propaganda and lies... all waiting to be disproven by the next study."
"I'm not a real doctor; But I am a real worm; I am an actual worm." - TMBG


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 11:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 12:54 am
Posts: 79
Just playing Devils advocate.

I have had no end of issues with SRM on various bikes. Cranks and Head Units.

Fortunately the SRM Oceania Service Centre is in Christchurch.

_________________
Hamish Ferguson
Cycling Coach


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:08 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:39 am
Posts: 2582
Yes, I think I got lucky Fergie, friend if mine had the DuraAce Wireless and wired track. Wired no issues whatsoever. Wireless had endless issues and had to be sent off to Germany... twice.

I had one issue on purchase but has been faultless since (was draining battery too quick, firmware resolved the issue). So ~2 years of solid use.

My mtb Powertap, especially given the conditions it has to endure, has been totally faultless (over a year old, no battery changes!) The same cannot be said for the Powertap Joule cradle however :(

Might be hijacking the thread but anyone used the new Joule?

_________________
"Physiology is all just propaganda and lies... all waiting to be disproven by the next study."
"I'm not a real doctor; But I am a real worm; I am an actual worm." - TMBG


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Posts: 5155
Location: Bay Area
I had 3 Quarqs break in 6 months and the Garmin Edge 500 interface rendered the unit almost completely useless due to how often it was dropping data or entire ride files. Hopefully I will have better luck with a wired SRM.

_________________
Don't take me too seriously.
Gramz
Strava


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 9:43 pm
Posts: 3036
Location: Canada
Oh, from my experience so far, you will. Especially if its a wired unit.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:30 pm
Posts: 5155
Location: Bay Area
DA 7800 wired- can't get more reliable than that. Too bad its going to be run on a Sram bike.

_________________
Don't take me too seriously.
Gramz
Strava


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 4:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 8171
Location: Geelong
None of this is really getting me excited guys...

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. F8 Aero Data?

in Road

sethjs

3

645

Sun Jun 28, 2015 12:04 pm

goodboyr View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. srm pc7 unable to download ride data

in Road

sungod

4

84

Fri Apr 15, 2016 4:05 pm

sungod View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Campy EPS transmitting its data wirelessly...

in Road

2old4this

8

634

Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:08 pm

userfriendly View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. aero data comparing Zipp wheelsets?

in Everything wheels

are

1

339

Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:59 am

dunbar42 View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited