HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:35 pm
Posts: 465
Location: The Netherlands
I am now thinking about the polar powermeter. But where do you have to place the normal speedsensor? In charts I saw it on the rear wheel. But I want to place it on my TT bike with disk...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 4:59 pm 


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 6:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:11 pm
Posts: 2509
Location: Oxford - UK
Paul_nl wrote:
I am now thinking about the polar powermeter. But where do you have to place the normal speedsensor? In charts I saw it on the rear wheel. But I want to place it on my TT bike with disk...


The speed sensor comes attached to the power sensor. The wire is only long enough to work off the back wheel.

Could a tune magnet not be glued to your disk?

_________________
"Ride it like you've just stolen it!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 7:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 7:13 am
Posts: 2169
Location: Finland
I have Polar power meter in my TT bike. Speed magnet is glued near rear hub with 2-side tape.

Cadense magnet fell of today when training, it is very close in front der.

:evil:

Today's training TT. You see where magnet fell...power goes then down. As you see I started too hard...power is degreasing all the time. First ride on this track and it has 45m climb on ~ middle. Good practice anyway.


Attachments:
TT862005.JPG
TT862005.JPG [ 73.31 KiB | Viewed 392 times ]

_________________
Samu @ www.signature.fi
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 4:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:29 pm
Posts: 1045
I spent the afternoon wiring up my mountain bike with a Polar PM so I can get an idea of how much energy I expend on my recovery, off-road and winter rides. Of course the speed sensor does not work, but I am in no rush to change it as speed doesn't matter much anyway...

_________________
John979


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 7:13 am
Posts: 2169
Location: Finland
Why not? Just put one more magnet to rear wheel...

_________________
Samu @ www.signature.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 11:29 pm
Posts: 1045
Samu Ilonen wrote:
Why not? Just put one more magnet to rear wheel...


The magnet is fine; it appears something is wrong with the speed sensor. I am going to work on it more today. Again, its not a big issue as I am more concerned with time, kilojoules and TTS (from Cycling Peaks Software) than distance. This is not my primary bike and is only used for recovery and winter riding.

_________________
John979


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:35 pm
Posts: 465
Location: The Netherlands
Tippster wrote:
The speed sensor comes attached to the power sensor. The wire is only long enough to work off the back wheel.

Could a tune magnet not be glued to your disk?

Hmm, maybe.

But with the polar S725 you also get a speedsensor. Is it possible to use that wireless speedsensor with the S725 while you are using the powermeter as well?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:11 pm
Posts: 2509
Location: Oxford - UK
Paul_nl wrote:
Tippster wrote:
The speed sensor comes attached to the power sensor. The wire is only long enough to work off the back wheel.

Could a tune magnet not be glued to your disk?

Hmm, maybe.

But with the polar S725 you also get a speedsensor. Is it possible to use that wireless speedsensor with the S725 while you are using the powermeter as well?


The power kit works differently.

The bar mount for the watch unit has a battery in it. The unit doesn't work wirelessly. A wire from both the speed sensor and power / cadence kit runs to the bar mount.

I'd be surprised if the watch unit could cope with a wireless speed signal while mounted on the Power specific bar mount.

I'd recommend e-mailing Polar direct...

_________________
"Ride it like you've just stolen it!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 9:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 7:13 am
Posts: 2169
Location: Finland
No,no...I have to change from watch to "Power Off" when I ride my road bike without power meter with normal Polar cadence/speed monitors or nothing works. not a big deal but must do.

_________________
Samu @ www.signature.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:05 am
Posts: 23
Location: San Francisco, CA
I'll be getting a powertap SL shortly. Does anybody know if the "problems" Cycleops has been experiencing with Powertap SL has been solved (i.e. battery, etc)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:11 pm
Posts: 2509
Location: Oxford - UK
Samu Ilonen wrote:
I have Polar power meter in my TT bike. Speed magnet is glued near rear hub with 2-side tape.

Cadense magnet fell of today when training, it is very close in front der.

:evil:

Today's training TT. You see where magnet fell...power goes then down. As you see I started too hard...power is degreasing all the time. First ride on this track and it has 45m climb on ~ middle. Good practice anyway.


I've found that when you place the speed magnet near the rear hub, I can catch the rear mech when in the large cog at teh back. Better to place your speed maget half way along the spoke - the wheel dishing then takes the maget away from the rear mech.

For this to work you need the power kit close to the cranks and the speed sensor half tucked under the power kit.

My cadence sensor is 3/4's along my crank away from the BB. Did you use the tape to fix the cadence sensor. I've used mine off-road and still holds fast...

_________________
"Ride it like you've just stolen it!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 9:28 pm
Posts: 1769
Location: Unknown parameter
[quote="Tippster]For this to work you need the power kit close to the cranks and the speed sensor half tucked under the power kit.
quote]

I thought the speed sensor had to be on the non-drive side chainstay or the power sensor would interfere with the readings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 9:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2003 3:11 pm
Posts: 2509
Location: Oxford - UK
mises wrote:
[quote="Tippster]For this to work you need the power kit close to the cranks and the speed sensor half tucked under the power kit.


I thought the speed sensor had to be on the non-drive side chainstay or the power sensor would interfere with the readings.


I must confess that I didn't read the instructions in detail.

the power sensor does not interfere with the speed sensor.

Their doesn't appear to be enough wire to fix the speed sensor to the opposite chainstay anyway.

_________________
"Ride it like you've just stolen it!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:05 am
Posts: 23
Location: San Francisco, CA
Samu Ilonen wrote:
No,no...I have to change from watch to "Power Off" when I ride my road bike without power meter with normal Polar cadence/speed monitors or nothing works. not a big deal but must do.


FYI- I got it 2 days ago and so far, it's working beautifully. Now I have to wait for that usb-serial converter before i can start downloading the data into the laptop.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 4:11 pm
Posts: 71
Check out www.ibikesports.com - a brand new device that measures power via wind velocity, and is surprisingly well-designed. I was talking to the designers a bit at Interbike and they definitely seemed to have very elegant answers to all of the questions I had.

Nobody knows yet if it's as accurate as PT or SRMs (though ibike is making claims to that effect), but it weighs 58g with harness and wheel magnet and will be a welcome addition to my racing setup next spring. I am already certain they'll be more accurate than the Polar meter - and they'll cost only $350 retail.

We're hoping to have them in stock by December and will test them against our PTs. The company is doing their professional testing right now.

wdbike.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:10 am 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Bura SL w/ SiSL2 w/power vs. Campy Super Record w/ power tap

in Road

cpparkcity

0

711

Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:54 pm

cpparkcity View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. If you train with power, do you race with power too?

[ Go to page: 1, 2 ]

in Training

nickd01

18

1818

Mon Nov 25, 2013 5:00 am

fireball05 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Power meter issues + MTB power meter on a roadbike

in Road

AlexJ

3

508

Tue Nov 12, 2013 2:09 pm

Geoff View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. NP v's Average Power

[ Go to page: 1, 2, 3 ]

in Training

dynaserve

34

1390

Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:39 pm

Rick View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. New group set, new power meter?

in Road

naylor343

5

890

Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:57 pm

dunbar42 View the latest post


It is currently Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:14 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB