HOT: Active* forum members generally gain 5% discount at starbike.com store!
Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Articles FAQ Contact About




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 260 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ... 18  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 1562
Location: Near Horgen, Switzerland
Anyone know where I can get the following ride analysis features?
1. GPS maps
2. Ability to set up a course for the edge 500
3. Ability to mark segments on courses and pick off times / speed / HR etc. for that portion of the ride
4. Ability to break / join routes and otherwise clean up files e.g. depending if you forget to press the reset button before starting off, or get some glitches you want to manually fill in
5. Ability to compare segments from ride to ride
6. Ability to draw a simple bar chart or histogram or distribution of HR and power over a ride or segment
7. Basic calendaring
8. Easy and transparent file management
9. Ability to manually add a standard ride, e.g. my commute, even if I don't have HRM etc. on the bike

I wouldn't mind using some sort of modular software, but I can't be bothered with using about 5 different programs to get this stuff to happen. As far as I can tell, current software works as follows
___________________1___2___3___4___ 5___6___7___8___9
Garmin Connect______Y___N___N___N___N___N___Y___O___?
Garmin desktop______O___?___N___N___N___N___Y___Y___?
Strava______________Y___?___Y___N___Y___Y___Y___O___Y
Bikeroutetoaster_____Y___Y___N___N___N___N___N___N___N
Sporttracks__________Y___P___Y___Y___Y___P___Y___?___Y

Y= yes
P=Yes with plugin
O= OK but poor
N = No
? = Not sure

Am I missing a killer ap that's already out there?

Updated to include info from posts up to 5th August - thanks for the info - it looks like Sportracks is the winner so far


Last edited by mrfish on Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 3:03 am
Posts: 28
Sportstracks

1. Yes
2. Yes for 305 with plugin (would need to check on 500)
3. Yes
4. Yes
5. Yes
6. Yes with plugins
7. Yes
8. ??? - runs a log book file that you can transport
9. Yes


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:49 am 


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 3:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:03 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: San Francisco Peninsula
mrfish wrote:
6. Ability to draw a simple bar chart or histogram or distribution of HR and power over a ride or segment
9. Ability to manually add a standard ride, e.g. my commute, even if I don't have HRM etc. on the bike

___________________1___2___3___4___ 5___6___7___8___9
Strava______________Y___?___Y___N___Y___N___Y___P___?


Strava does both 6 and 9.

_________________
2013 Wilier Cento1 SR || 2009 Ridley Crossbow || 2011 Yeti AS-R 5 Carbon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 11:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 1562
Location: Near Horgen, Switzerland
Thanks for the info - post updated.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 1:52 pm
Posts: 367
Location: England, UK
A question for Garmin 500 owners. When doing a course, can you now customise all the data fields or do you still have to have the 4 user defined + 4 fixed course fields like on the 705?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:57 pm
Posts: 7409
Location: San Francisco, CA
I didn't get any recorded data from Mt Tam Double yesterday (195 miles), perhaps because in my compromised state at the end of the ride I was thinking only of checking in, hydrating, and eating and not about hitting stop or reset. Instead I powered it down without doing these things.

I'm not sure if this is why I lost the data, but it is extremely frustrating.

_________________
http://djconnel.blogspot.com/
Fuji SL/1
\


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:07 pm
Posts: 562
Oh my god, I'd light the thing on fire if it lost that ride.

(Sometimes I over-react, though.)

_________________
Summer -- 2011 Cannondale SuperSix HiMod 6.19 kg.
Winter -- 2005 Fuji Team Issue 6.6 kg.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 2:40 am 
Offline
Shop Wrench
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 6:15 am
Posts: 709
Ah, you guys are making me nervous with all the 500 horror stories. I'm about to pull the trigger on one, but I'm having second thoughts. The only thing I keep thinking is how when the 305 came out, I heard all these same stories, yet I haven't had one problem or lost one ride with my 305. The only theory I was ever able to come up with was that I use it with a mac and not a pc. Everyone I know who uses a mac with their garmin never had any problems. I know that's not really logical, but it makes me feel better.

I'm so used to my 305 that I'm hesitant to get the joule, even though it's clearly better for training from what I have seen, although I haven't fiddled with the 500 much.

_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:03 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: San Francisco Peninsula
FWIW; I've only lost one ride with my 705. My computer rebooted after I plugged in the unit and while the course/history was saving. Managed to corrupt that one ride. I think that's okay for over 2 years of use.

_________________
2013 Wilier Cento1 SR || 2009 Ridley Crossbow || 2011 Yeti AS-R 5 Carbon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:25 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Posts: 7504
Location: Geeeelong! / YURP
I had a run last year where I had multiple 705 files that would come up corrupt. One of which mattered and a WW on here very kindly repaired for me.

This year I've not permanently lost files, but there have been times it's done the uploading process and only half of the rides that should have been uploaded actually would appear. I would look for them to manually input them, and they would be gone.
Only then for the 'lost' files to magically appear the next time I did uploads.

:noidea:

Has a mind of it's own and is out to drive mine nuts, I'm sure of it.

_________________
http://www.nicksquillari.com.au


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:00 am
Posts: 30
Location: Michigan, USA
Maybe I'm just lucky, but I've been using a 500 since January and I haven't lost a single ride. It even recorded the ride when I started on low battery and the computer finally died 20 miles down the road.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:58 pm
Posts: 460
Location: Ontario, Canada
Just got an Edge 500

Garmin Training Centre keeps telling me that the file type (.fit) recorded on the Garmin is incompatible and it needs to be .tsx The first time I powered up the 500 I walked around the house and recorded it, and that imported to GTC, but no rides will so far...

How do I make this work?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 11:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:03 pm
Posts: 2004
Location: San Francisco Peninsula
GTC is a piece of shit, last I checked. Try Garmin Connect, Strava or SportTracks.

Oh and btw, GPS works very poorly inside.

_________________
2013 Wilier Cento1 SR || 2009 Ridley Crossbow || 2011 Yeti AS-R 5 Carbon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:07 pm
Posts: 562
I use ridewithgps. I don't have power, however.

_________________
Summer -- 2011 Cannondale SuperSix HiMod 6.19 kg.
Winter -- 2005 Fuji Team Issue 6.6 kg.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:58 pm
Posts: 460
Location: Ontario, Canada
Yeah i have noticed it is garbage, i'd just like to be able to try using it. Can you create workouts with Garmin Connect? Right now I'm using a combination of Connect, Strava, and Ascent. Just trying to see what I like best.

And I know it works like garbage indoors, it was just a test 'run' :thumbup:


Top
 Profile  
 
Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:24 am 


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 260 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ... 18  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. FS: Garmin Edge 500 with many accessories

in For sale - Pictures are mandatory 22-3-13

HaroldC

0

327

Sun May 18, 2014 9:34 pm

HaroldC View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. New Garmin Edge 1000

[ Go to page: 1 ... 10, 11, 12 ]

in Road

Tillquist

177

16538

Tue Jul 29, 2014 8:51 pm

Anders3404 View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Good alternative to Garmin Edge 810?

[ Go to page: 1 ... 7, 8, 9 ]

in Road

kojtl1000

127

7534

Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:56 pm

CerveloBert View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Garmin Edge 510 map data problem?

in Training

ToffieBoi

1

202

Sun May 18, 2014 9:12 am

mentok View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Giant Ridesense and Garmin edge 500

in Cycle Chat

climbwalz

3

1065

Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:27 am

rijndael View the latest post


It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:26 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Advertising   –  FAQ   –  Contact   –  Convert   –  About

© Weight Weenies 2000-2013
hosted by starbike.com


How to get rid of these ads? Just register!


Powered by phpBB