Looking for Training tips for sub 5 hour century

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Tippster

by Tippster

I'd like to achieve a sub 5 hour 100 miles on road, before Nov 7th 2005.

I'm 5' 8'', 172lbs and 30 years old. Body Fat between 12.6% (immediately after a ride) and 14.7% (first thing in the morning).

I've been cycling for just 18 months now. I ride 27 miles a day (mon - fri)as a commute to work and back (13.5 miles each way).

Sprinting to work, I achieve an average just over 20mph. Quite a bit of traffic and lights and roundabouts. I cruise reasonably comfortably at 23mph. When sprinting across roundabouts (20 sec burst) I max 34.7mph on the flat.

I'm thinking on targeting various areas:
(1) get my own weight down. (Eat more healthy.)
(2) get my body fat % down to 8% (not sure what level is still healthy?)
(3) increasing endurance (longer slower rides?)
(4) increasing my mileage (not sure how to quickly to increase?)

My only exercise currently is cycling (also doing an office job). I can't see myself going down the gym regularly (I'll get bored), but I could put up with an hours badmington twice a week.

Any suggestions gratefully accepted.
"Ride it like you've just stolen it!"

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

skid

by skid

i'm 5'8" and 142 pounds and my body fat scale says i have 17% body fat. Either your scale or my scale is inaccurate.

yoko

by yoko

skid wrote:i'm 5'8" and 142 pounds and my body fat scale says i have 17% body fat. Either your scale or my scale is inaccurate.

Comparing height & weight is not relative to body fat count. Somebody could be smaller than you and heavier but have a single digit body fat percentage because his muscle mass is greater, e.g. body builders.

keithster

by keithster