Beginner - live in the hills, should I drive to a flatter area?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Rty1138

by Rty1138

I live on a pretty big hill and I'm a bit intimidated bombing up and down it. I'm very new to road biking. Should I look for some flat area to bike around first or is variety the spice of life?

Carnkycolnago

by Carnkycolnago

Rty1138 wrote:I live on a pretty big hill and I'm a bit intimidated bombing up and down it. I'm very new to road biking. Should I look for some flat area to bike around first or is variety the spice of life?

Hills are your friends, take it at your pace and watch yourself get stronger faster !!

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Shrike

by Shrike

You need both so, yes do travel out to a flatter area regularly. You use different muscle groups climbing v on the flats and both need to get worked if you want to be fast all round. That hill you live on... later that'll be the greatest boon to your cycling career. Just hard to appreciate it when starting out :D

AJS914

by AJS914

After you get some miles in your legs the hills won't seem so torturous. I just came back from a year of injury and little fitness. 700 miles later and hills are starting to get enjoyable again.

kode54

by kode54

great living in the hills. you'll be the strongest one eventually...especially if you have to climb to get home after a long ride.
- Factor Ostro VAM Disc
- Factor LS Disc
- Specialized Aethos Disc
- Sturdy Ti Allroad Disc
- Guru Praemio R Disc

kulivontot

by kulivontot

Do what you enjoy. There's a place for both for training, but if you're not having fun, you're not going to do either.

bm0p700f
in the industry

by bm0p700f

Simple answer no. Yours rides are not a race. Enjoy going up be ause you get to come down.

beanbiken

by beanbiken