Weight Weenies
* FAQ    * Search    * Trending Topics
* Login   * Register
HOME Listings Blog NEW Galleries NEW FAQ Contact About Impressum
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 1:24 am

All times are UTC+01:00





Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:44 am
Posts: 2255
Location: Canada
HI all,
I've been experiencing something new lately.
We now have 3 powermeters in the house, when someone is starting his ( her) workout ( with a second powermeter going) , head units have issues.
The Garmin edge 500 units that are activated have a "multiple powermeter detected" message, and it's not possible to calibrate the "new" powermeter.

The "already active" units's (either the Garmin Edge 500 or the O'synce Navi2Coach) power and RPM readings will "bug" from the moment a new unit is starting.

I can't believe this can't be addressed as within a peloton in a race, or at the start, I should be possible to calibrate, start, and pair a powermeter with a specific head unit, use it with many other devices around... ??

I've been looking the Internet for an answer, but nothing really answered my questions...

Louis :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:25 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Slovenia
Do you have all of the powermeters paired to the same head unit? Haven't had that kind of a problem yet, but that might be an issue. I know that my Garmin picks up additional sensors that weren't near by at the start, but were previously paired even mid ride.

If that's the case, try removing paired powermeters that arent used with specific headunit and give it a go.


Top
   
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:19 pm 


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:23 am
Posts: 1274
Location: Pack filler
Its easy for the 500's.
Set each PM as a separate bike profile with easily identifiable names, and make sure its set to the bike you're using it with.
New Garmins like the 820, have a sensor "pool" for wont of a better word. It picks up whatever sensors it sees from the pool, so if you haven't previously paired it to it, it shouldn't connect.

Problems occur when it sees to already paired pm's (such as my p2m and powertap hub) it will ask first which one.
Easiest thing to do is wake 1 pm at a time, so its only trying to connect to that. once its paired, then wake the other, and it should ask if you want to connect?; and like the kids form grange hill, just say no.

Not sure on the navicoach so can't comment as to how to cure that one.

_________________
Official cafe stop tester


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:17 am
Posts: 98
Location: EU, Latvia
What kind of power meters are you using? I had similar issue with edge 500 and P2M type S, when you have made profile in edge 500 with multiple sensors. For example you have HRM and PM sensors set there but when you turn it on next time and wake up PM but havent connected HRM before, then it shows neverending calibration. Same way older gen P2M was running fine even when HRM wasn't connected.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:36 am
Posts: 542
Location: Where the permanent autumn is
The HRM & neverending PM calibration issue was a well known Edge 500 bug, which was eventually solved with a firmware update (don't remember the version, though).

But I don't really wonder that Garmin might have introduced other bugs :D, and "multiple powermeter detected" or "multiple HRM sensors detected" (which was also present on my Edge 500) clearly sounds like that.

I'd try borrowing and using a "newer" Edge model, 510 or 520 (which have bike profiling) to test this hypothesis.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:36 am
Posts: 205
You've got too much money , I can resolve this issue . Send me the two power meters asap.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 3:44 am
Posts: 2255
Location: Canada
@zazo: No. But to compare power reading différences, I tried both powermeters on the same bike a few times, both with a different head unit. Bizarre enough. When I did this, I didn't get the issue. It's when a second PM + head unit is starting when one is already in " action" that it happens.

@jekyllman: I'll try to set up a few different bike profiles to "isolate" the different sensors involved. My kids hate HRM's and don't use them, I do.

@aspms: I have one Powetap GS and two 4iii Precision ( all three cost me less than $850 US ajmit3 ;) ). I know with the Edge 500 if you entered an HRM in the bike profile ( sensors ) , you have to wear the belt, else calibration is endless...

I also had lots of signal "blanks", but I think it's because the initial home training setup was too close from the Wifi unit... We moved everything and solved this issue...


Will get back to you on our next sessions, coming soon we'll train all 3 bikes side-to-side :)

Louis :)


Top
   
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:44 pm 


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

   Similar Topics   Author   Replies   Views   Last post 
There are no new unread posts for this topic. Software to compare multiple power meter dat?

in Road

mr4fox

3

488

Tue Dec 20, 2016 9:10 pm

hambini View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. what power meters are you using on a cipollini bond

in Road

mattCSUK

2

332

Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:10 am

mattCSUK View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Adjusting for variability in power meters

in Training

roadman

9

651

Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:41 pm

roadman View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Left and Right sensing light weight power meters

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

bpe

20

2058

Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:16 pm

kulivontot View the latest post

There are no new unread posts for this topic. Which is more accurate, generally, smart trainers or crank based power meters?

[ Go to page: 1 2 ]

in Road

Shrike

15

1295

Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:38 am

HakeemT View the latest post


All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited