what recovery supplements should i be taking?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

liketoride

by liketoride

I ride to work and back everyday, we are talking about 50 miles round trip 5 days a week. On the weekends i like to ride with friends or by myself and i have been doing this for 4 years now but lately i have been really getting muscle soreness and i want it to go away. Right now after my rides i take a protein shake with organic cane sugar and BCAA then stretch and my legs are sore every morning. I take it easy for a couple of days ride below 220w and take all the supplements and still my legs do not recover. I would like for this to go away as it is not fun waking up everyday in pain. I dont race so i can take anything legal that you guys know of. I live in the US and have searched recovery methods and have tried everything i have read and have not been successful yet. I get home and stretch take the supplements and it is not getting better. Please help. Thank you

robrud

by robrud

I take few days of rest / easy riding. Works best :)

Actually I have noticed better training adaptions after I stopped stuffing sugar in my body just after the ride. If your ride is just 1 hour you don't need any supplements. Healthy food should be more than sufficient.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Marin

by Marin

I don't think any supplements or recovery drinks can help here.

Rest for a week or 2, and take it easy on the weekends.

liketoride

by liketoride

I have taken a couple of easy ride and still have not recovered the next day. My 20 min power right now is 380w and for the couple of days I would ride at 220 w which is a little higher than recommended but cannot ride any slower as I am riding home. Is anyone taking supplements I am not that is making an impacted for them?

Dalai

by Dalai