Fasting endurance training?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Ahillock

by Ahillock

What are thoughts about including a few workouts a week where you fast prior to workout (don't eat from after dinner the night before your morning work out)? Should be about 12-14 hours of fasting state. I have read some articles that point to this as being good for endurance training. Any thoughts or experience?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

benzebub

by benzebub

I'm not an expert but the things I've read online is that it has some effect in boosting your metabolism and "learning" to use stored body fats as nutrition. Most opinions also say that training should be limited to 1 hour, 1,5 hour max.

I do include some fasting endurance rides in my training, but just once in 2-3 weeks, just to give my body some kind of "shock" and snap it out of routine.
But I could be wrong

Nefarious86

by Nefarious86

Have done it for ages. Works great if you're not doing anything too intense.
Using Tapatalk

wheelzqc

by wheelzqc

What works ? I mean what do you accomplish ? Do you gain power from it ? Lose fat that wouldn't have lost from eating before ?

Kayrehn

by Kayrehn

wheelzqc wrote:What works ? I mean what do you accomplish ? Do you gain power from it ? Lose fat that wouldn't have lost from eating before ?

Endurance athletes aim to train the body to employ fat as fuel by doing fasting exercise sessions. Eventually (if done right), the body will continue to burn more proportion of fat as fuel instead of carbohydrate as the intensity goes up, instead of a constant reliance on the latter.

BikeAnon

by BikeAnon

Ahillock, What are your longest events that you are training for?

53x12

by 53x12