Questions: TrainerRoad and "Erg mode".

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Tapeworm

by Tapeworm

People will need to help me out here. I see on various forums a lot of chatter about how awesome TrainerRoad is and how even more awesome the "erg" mode is on certain trainers (Kickr for example).

Can people explain this to me? As far as I can see TR offer a lot of cookie-cutter programs for a cheap price, so that's a win I guess. As well as "virtual power" based on spin-down tests etc. Am I missing anything?

As for the erg mode, why do people find this so special?
"Physiology is all just propaganda and lies... all waiting to be disproven by the next study."
"I'm not a real doctor; But I am a real worm; I am an actual worm." - TMBG

Dodger747

by Dodger747

You can spin in any gear without worrying about hitting various power numbers - the Kickr will just adjust the resistance automatically for you.

It's a first-world issue, as it isn't that hard to change resistance but it makes my training so much easier in that I can just get on my Kickr and pedal away. And with TrainerRoad, it adds so much variety to your training programme which I realsitically would never replicate without it.
VO2 Max - 79 ml/kg/min
W/kg - 4.9

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Tapeworm

by Tapeworm

So your power level is capped then? How does it go up or down (in the context of the programme)? Are the increases/decreases determined by TR, or other?

Like what kind of variety?
"Physiology is all just propaganda and lies... all waiting to be disproven by the next study."
"I'm not a real doctor; But I am a real worm; I am an actual worm." - TMBG

Dodger747

by Dodger747