Short intervals > long intervals

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Tapeworm

by Tapeworm

Interesting, especially over the duration that the intervals were tested.

Full text (inc the interval protocol) should be available on the right of screen).

http://www.researchgate.net/publication ... d_approach
"Physiology is all just propaganda and lies... all waiting to be disproven by the next study."
"I'm not a real doctor; But I am a real worm; I am an actual worm." - TMBG

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

olebole

by olebole

Been doing those for a while now and they have become one of my favourite sessions, especially compared to other VO2max oriented protocols.
Since n=1 in my case, I can't say if my gains is better than on doing 4x4's. But I have been doing significantly more VO2max sessions due to this protocol being better on keeping my motivation up by adding the 15s "off".

Marin

by Marin

Thanks for the link, very interesting.

KWalker

by KWalker

The results are not surprising nor really that prescriptive, but its a good article in that it clearly shows why/when someone would want to use one protocol over another. There is no such thing as an ideal or perfect interval protocol, but rather different reasons for using different protocol.