Body dictates strengths as cyclist ? How to know them ?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Kupepe

by Kupepe

Hello,

I have been cycling for the last 3 years. Unfortunately with 2 8 month breaks due to newborn babies which put me back a lot in matters of condition. Up till now I have been doing club rides and a two or three 200 km audaxes for the fun with friends.

The last 3 months have been very interesting for me since with the guidance of a former professional athlete friend I have improved my pedalling technique (high cadence, no bouncing, loose shoulders, feet etc) and breathing quite a lot and have seen great improvement in efficiency when going up hills or when I am at the drops.

Now, I am starting to think to preparing to do some racing. I am willing to put the effort to be adequate, in order to follow the bunch without dying on the bike, learn how to move inside the bunch etc, during the next season. I am 38 and with 2 kids. I am planning to start with creating a solid base for next year. Then maybe do more specific sweetspotthreshhold training and see where we go from there.

This former athlete friend suggested that at first I should start with some basic running during weekdays in order to build my cardiovuscular strength, do one long ride during the weekends and hit the gym to strengthen my core. After 3 months I should go to do some measurements to define my FTP etc and build a more solid plan from there. Fine by me. Does it sound ok as a logic to you? Unfortunately where I live I dont have access to a cycling coach.

Due to my profession I am quite analytical and I prefer to do some smart, efficient training since with 2 kids there is not so much time available. Doing some reading I understand that our physiology dictates in some degree the kind of cyclist he can be. Are you a sprinter, a breakaway rider, a TTer or a Climber. How can I determine that ?

Thank you in advance and sorry for the wall of words.